Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Burritos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Burritos

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2010

      These were great! We will definitely be having these again. Next time I may add a few things to the burrito to make it more interesting (rice, black olives, some re-fried beans) but I will never make meat for a burrito another way and am looking forward to trying meat like this on tacos and in enchiladas as well. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Such a simple recipe to put together! I love that it is not time consuming! Kiddos ate this up! Will be making it again in the future. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I loved the texture of this meat and the way it tasted. I will definitely make this again and probably use this method anytime I make 'taco meat'. Thanks for sharing!---- Edited to say that I made this last night using ground turkey and it was also delicious! What a great method. I also started using the leftover meat, mixed with some chili beans, green chilies, salsa etc for the chili/bean mixture on top of nachos. Its perfect! Like an order from the pub!----

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Absolutely delicious. I didn't change a thing. I never would have thought to make meat this way. My husband thought it was the best...and he is really picky! He said we don't have to go out for burritos anymore. I also used the same meat filling for enchiladas and it was the bomb as well. I just want to say thank you for such a great recipe and such I great idea that I would never have up with on my own!! You're awesome!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      This came out amazing! I used taco bell chipotle seasoning mix the first time I made it and am making another batch right now using ortega taco seasoning mix. This is so handy to keep in the frig (heats really well in the microwave) for those quick burrito cravings. This is very similar to the way that you cook the ground beef for Cincinnati Chili which I have made before. This is definately the only recipe I will use for burrito filling from now on. Just perfect. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Wow! I used to work at a Mexican restaurant, and I watched the cooks fix the beef this way,but never thought to do it myself. The difference is amazing. I added a little minced garlic, and some cumin. Thanks!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Like some others, I was a little worries about boiling meat. But I was so pleased with how it turned out!! Reminds me of the texture of taco bell meat. We filled our burritos with this meat, rice, beans, and cheese. So good!! Thanks for sharing this!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      This was delicious! The meat is so much more tender when it is simmered. I used packaged seasoning, 2 cloves of garlic and all of the suggested toppings. The kids liked it and my 3yr old had two! Next time I might remove the kids meat and spice up ours. Very easy to throw together. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Wow, I never would have thought that simmering the meat would make such a huge difference, but it does! These tasted absolutely delicious. I used your spice mix and your topping suggestions. I often make ground beef burritos and tacos, and I will always simmer instead of brown from now on. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I loved this recipe! Made it awhile back and am going to make again this week. It is definitely a great recipe for the meat. I made up my own dry burrito mix but used smoked chipotle powder instead of chili powder. Turned out good but would probably add more smoked chipotle powder next time. Thanks for a great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      Excellent texture but it lacks flavor. Good enough if you're in a hurry but 'good enough' isn't what I'm after.

      I'm going back to browning the meat and adding tomato paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      A very good idea to simmer the ground beef, as opposed to browning it. It doesn't take as long as readers have found to cook-off the liquid either; maybe 20 - 30 minutes. I added some bell peppers, red onion, cumin, and garlic, and I think it came out even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      This was good! I used taco bell seasoning. The meat really did remind me of Taco Bell. I made into tacos. Really stretches the amount of 1 lb ground beef. Only problem was getting the water to reduce down. Had to cover and turn up heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

    • on August 30, 2011

      Wonderful recipe. I added some green peppers and needed to use up some rice I had leftover from another meal. I embellished the burritos with extra cheese, tomatoes, parsley and warmed them in the oven a bit. We loved them. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Very delicious recipe! I pretty much completely adapted this with wonderful results: I added geen and yellow sweet peppers, one jalapeno and an onion, all processed fine in a food processor. Then I threw everything into a pressure cooker with 1/4 cup of water (and chipotle chili powder and a bit of smoked paprika and a bit of salt) and cooked it for 15 minutes after it got up to pressure. Very, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      Awesome! I cant believe how cooking hamburg with water makes the meat perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      These burritos are delicious! I loved the consistency of the beef and all of the ingredients worked perfectly together. Also, thanks to the one reviewer about the time it takes the beef mixture to reduce because I prepared for it to be an hour and it was. I used soft tortillas that were a bit too small so they didn't wrap as well as they could have, but they were great nonetheless. Made for Honor They Mother tag game. Thanks Brandess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Used this recipe for soft tacos and texture was just like our favorite mexican restaurant. So thrilled to find this method since I have been forever trying to get tender, finely chopped ground beef by frying with no luck. It took over an hour for water to cook off, so keep in mind this is not your "need a quick dinner, I'll make burritos/tacos" kind of recipe. It's not time consuming hands on and totally worth the wait time... just plan ahead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      Good grief this was good! I am kicking myself for all those years of making burritos by browning the meat in a pan instead of boiling it! My husband (who is the pickiest eater I have ever met) LOVED it!!! We loved the consistency of the meat, even our 3 year old who doesn't like beef ate half a burrito (she thought it was a bean burrito). I cannot wait to make this again! The only changes I made were adding cumin and melting the cheese in with the meat. Thanks so much for this recipe! It is a definite keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Burritos

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 297.4
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    45%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 58.8 mg
    19%
    Sodium 552.4 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 18.4 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dry burrito mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites