Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef and Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef and Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2007

      Yes, I tweaked making in a 3 quart dish. I used 4 potatoes which I sliced just before layering so no need to cover with water and chill. I browned 2 pounds of 90 percent less fat beef skipped the oil and sauteed the onions celery and garlic right in with the beef, so no need to remove. I skipped the butter and sprinkled 3 tablespoons flour right over the beef mixture. Stirred it in then added 2 cups of low fat milk and 1 cup cheese heated till thickened stirring in the spices. Now I sliced the potatoes in which I layered with the meet mixture. Quick and easy and a lot less clean up with quicker results. I do suggest covering the casserole dish with foil for 45 minutes to prevent the top from browning to quickly. At which point add the remaining cheese to melt! Comfort food! Oh my son just had to top his with ketchup and I found it pretty good. Thanks for the warmth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Wow! This dish is like a combination of scalloped potatoes and shepherd's pie! It's so delicious and definitely comforting. I sauteed my meat in a deep skillet with the veggies then took it off the heat and added raw, diced mushrooms and zucchini. I didn't want to dirty more dishes so I didn't layer my casserole; instead I just spread my potatoes over my meat mixture then the cheese sauce over that. I had to bake my for 1 1/2 hours total (probably because the way I stacked ingredients). I put the skillet lid on it for the first 45 minutes. The last 20 minutes I sprinkled it with shredded cheese and fresh grated parm. This was awesome and very versatile. Will make again. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      Choose this dish based on my ingredients on hand and the reviews. A Big success! Loved it. I followed Rita's suggestions...then added about 1 1/2cups of frozen green beans and two handfuls of frozen corn to meat mixture. Kids lived it. Served with salad and rolls. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I made followed the recipe exactly except for the cheddar cheese (I didn't quite have enough; I had to use monterey-jack instead). It came out a tad bit salty for my liking (probably from the cheese), but otherwise it was great. The whole dish got eaten the first go-round. :-) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      This was pretty good. I don't think I used enough cheese tho. I'll make this again using more cheese sauce and extra cheese for the top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      it's not bad but it's not something i'll make again. the sauce didn't come out right for me i had to add a lot more milk than in the directions. i used all the spices and it still seemed a little blah to me. just not the recipe for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      Everyone ate this but my only complaint was the bottom of the casserole didn't have any of the sauce. I see in some of the pictures the casseroles look saucy mine wasn't like that and I followed the directions exactly. I may try this again and maybe just mix everything together to see if that makes a difference. Thanks, Andi!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      There's nothing wrong with this recipe, but nothing special on the other hand. My husband and I ate almost most of it, but thought we shouldn't make it again. It's not a big deal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2014

      A little bland but tasty. Would maybe make more cheese sauce/have a slightly higher ratio of potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      This was a very good meal. For our tastes, the spices could have been stronger and it could have used more onions but it was a very good jumping off place. I used a mandolin to cut my potatoes thinly and they cooked in 45 minutes. I would also cover the dish for most of the cooking time, uncovering it only at the end to give the topping some color. <br/><br/>With a bit more seasoning, I can see this becoming part of our regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      This was great! I made a few minor changes based off reviews. Let's see, I added 1/4 more salt to the beef and 1/2tsp more garlic and less 1/4tsp chili flakes. I did a 1/2 more of all the ingredients in the cheese sauce, but did a 1/2 tsp chili- so, a bit more than 1/2 more. I mixed the beef with 1/2 the cheese sauce and layered,adding cheese sauce to each layer. It was good and had a bite,too! I think I'll add more veg to the meat next time. Thanks for sharing...it's a nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      Very delicious! Just seasoned to our tastes and it was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      Just finished having this for my dinner and really enjoyed it. First, I halved the recipe since I'm only cooking for one person. Did not add the red pepper flakes and forgot to add the paprika and cheese topping, but it was fine without those things. After tasting the sauce and adding more milk and salt, I just mixed everything together rather than layering. One hour was perfect for a cook time. Thanks, Andi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      This was very good. Everyone loved it and asked for more, even my picky son (who dislikes potatoes). Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Simple & easy to put together. Hubby loved it! Slightly "warm", for me, but the pepper flakes do give it that kick. Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      This is really good.I fixed it for some friends & "she" didnt like the pepper flakes(they did give a kick).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Enjoyed this dish. Added a little velvetta which I had left. Added a little over a cup of milk. Used about 1-1/4 lbs of ground beef. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      I was looking for something different to do with ground beef,so this was made on 2/5/09. There were a few changes made to the recipe, that I don't think changed the end result.Since my SO and I don't care for celery it was left out.Instead of cooking the onion by itself, I cooked it with the ground beef.The amount of mutmeg in the sauce part of the recipe was cut down to 1/4 tsp.Other than those changes, the recipe was made as written.Since my oven temp. runs a bit on the weird side, this was done to our likeness in about 45 minutes.The taste was pure comfort, a very good "stick to your ribs " dish. This will be made again. Thanks for posting and "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      As written, I'd give the recipe three stars... good and comforting, but lacking a little something. I followed most of the changes mentioned in Rita's review, and would give that a 4 for sure! I think I'll continue to tweak it a little for our family's tastes as it is definitely in the running to be one of our favorites -- I just know it! Thanks, Andi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Yummy..Yummy for your tummy...if you're looking for a nice filling meal. Add a salad or some dinner rolls. Yoila~ Great meal for the men of this family. I made this during the day (as I had to drive the yellow school bus that night for a sporting event) following (somewhat) Rita's recipe review alternatives. Left a little note on the counter for DH to follow when he got home from working. Perfectly cooked in 45 minutes.... so he says:-). Thanks for a great idea to the normal casserole I usually whip together of meat and potatoes. Loved the addition of cheese in this one. Made for HolidayTag~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef and Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 452.5
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    47%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 110.2 mg
    36%
    Sodium 816.6 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 30.4 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites