33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yes, I tweaked making in a 3 quart dish. I used 4 potatoes which I sliced just before layering so no need to cover with water and chill. I browned 2 pounds of 90 percent less fat beef skipped the oil and sauteed the onions celery and garlic right in with the beef, so no need to remove. I skipped the butter and sprinkled 3 tablespoons flour right over the beef mixture. Stirred it in then added 2 cups of low fat milk and 1 cup cheese heated till thickened stirring in the spices. Now I sliced the potatoes in which I layered with the meet mixture. Quick and easy and a lot less clean up with quicker results. I do suggest covering the casserole dish with foil for 45 minutes to prevent the top from browning to quickly. At which point add the remaining cheese to melt! Comfort food! Oh my son just had to top his with ketchup and I found it pretty good. Thanks for the warmth!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ January 03, 2007

Wow! This dish is like a combination of scalloped potatoes and shepherd's pie! It's so delicious and definitely comforting. I sauteed my meat in a deep skillet with the veggies then took it off the heat and added raw, diced mushrooms and zucchini. I didn't want to dirty more dishes so I didn't layer my casserole; instead I just spread my potatoes over my meat mixture then the cheese sauce over that. I had to bake my for 1 1/2 hours total (probably because the way I stacked ingredients). I put the skillet lid on it for the first 45 minutes. The last 20 minutes I sprinkled it with shredded cheese and fresh grated parm. This was awesome and very versatile. Will make again. Thank you!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
un petit chou March 16, 2010

Choose this dish based on my ingredients on hand and the reviews. A Big success! Loved it. I followed Rita's suggestions...then added about 1 1/2cups of frozen green beans and two handfuls of frozen corn to meat mixture. Kids lived it. Served with salad and rolls. Thanks for the post.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki_ July 11, 2011

Excellent recipe! I made followed the recipe exactly except for the cheddar cheese (I didn't quite have enough; I had to use monterey-jack instead). It came out a tad bit salty for my liking (probably from the cheese), but otherwise it was great. The whole dish got eaten the first go-round. :-) Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef J Rae July 04, 2010

This was pretty good. I don't think I used enough cheese tho. I'll make this again using more cheese sauce and extra cheese for the top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 July 04, 2008

it's not bad but it's not something i'll make again. the sauce didn't come out right for me i had to add a lot more milk than in the directions. i used all the spices and it still seemed a little blah to me. just not the recipe for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodchic November 11, 2007

Everyone ate this but my only complaint was the bottom of the casserole didn't have any of the sauce. I see in some of the pictures the casseroles look saucy mine wasn't like that and I followed the directions exactly. I may try this again and maybe just mix everything together to see if that makes a difference. Thanks, Andi!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z October 18, 2007

There's nothing wrong with this recipe, but nothing special on the other hand. My husband and I ate almost most of it, but thought we shouldn't make it again. It's not a big deal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missbest_2000 April 09, 2007

A little bland but tasty. Would maybe make more cheese sauce/have a slightly higher ratio of potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tombomp May 28, 2014

This was a very good meal. For our tastes, the spices could have been stronger and it could have used more onions but it was a very good jumping off place. I used a mandolin to cut my potatoes thinly and they cooked in 45 minutes. I would also cover the dish for most of the cooking time, uncovering it only at the end to give the topping some color. <br/><br/>With a bit more seasoning, I can see this becoming part of our regular rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann September 21, 2013
Ground Beef and Potato Casserole