Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef and Garbanzo Bean Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef and Garbanzo Bean Casserole

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2009

      We had a BBQ this weekend and had a ton of left over grilled burgers. I was looking for a recipe to use some the meat. I crumbled the burgers and made recipe as directed topped with cheddar cheese. I did not bake, I simply simmered over med heat. Turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I made this on the stove top with both white corn and garbanzos fully drained. After reading the reviews re being watery I decided to not put any water in it. Rather than the 15 oz can of tomato sauce, I added a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes and a 6 oz can of sauce after I let all the liquids simmer out. Then turned it down very low for about 1/2 hour and added a pinch of beau monde and a few drops of Magi to add some depth and richness. Came out very good. Served it along side some rice cooked with beef broth. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      Quick, easy and delicious. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2012

      Quick, easy, delish, and healthy! If you enjoy spice, I recommend doubling the cumin, an adding 1/2 tsp cayenne! I agree with other users who pass on adding extra water:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      Wonderful meal! Warm and Very Filling! Thank You for Sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      What a fabulous dish. I used lean ground beef and 2 cans of garbanzo beans. Next time I am going to experiment with corn and kidney beans. Very flavorful yet healthy dish. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      What a great dish! Fast and delicious! Love recipes with the added bonus of chickpeas!! ;) Used a little more tomato sauce and added some Tabasco. Thanks for sharing! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      My husband and my 2 and 5 years old loved it. I wasn't expecting it to be good because there are so many 3 stars review but was I surprised. I don't find that it lacks flavour at all. I did not bake it in the oven, I cooked it right on the stove. Use 1 can of beans and 1 can of corn, undrained. My family loved it so much that they asked me to make it again. Serve with brown rice, really filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      I hate to admit that I didn't have high hopes for this recipe, as I'm not a casserole girl. But, we absolutely loved it. I had 1 can of garbanzo beans to use up (hoping to find a way to sneak them by DH & DS) & this recipe was perfect. Everything else is always on hand & it went together very quickly. I used one can of white corn & served it over rice. As I was putting the beef mixture into a casserole dish I envisioned it topped with mashed potatoes that were lightly broiled at the end of baking.... & then at dinner when I told the family of my daydream they got into the action & came up with a version that would be wrapped in flour tortillas with or without rice & one with pasta instead of rice. I think this is going to be a versatile & very quick go-to meal for busy weeknights. I couldn't be more pleased that I tried this one. UPDATE: Freezes very well. Would definitely recommend for OAMC. Even my picky toddler ate it! Thanks so much for posting, Angela!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      A very nice dish quite reminiscent of chili without the "oomph".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      OUTSTANDING. I hate cooking and found this one easy and tasty. I used my own combo of spices a/c I already know which ones I like. I'm making this again and will freeze some for later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      mediocre at best. I don't know why I decided to, but I threw in some hot cheetos. It was the only way I could eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      As written, the recipe did not turn out correctly. There was far too much liquid to be anything but a soup. Since it barely fit in a 2 qt. dish, I am guessing the beans (corn) should have been drained. The flavor was a bit muted - I dished my serving out with a slotted spoon and the seasonings were left behind. Next time instead of using corn I will use all beans. I will also drain them and use the liquid instead of water. I might also double this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      This is reminiscent of chili. Not great, but not awful, just really basic and plain. Used small can of tomato sauce, and used corn and garbanzo combo. We won't make it again, because I'd rather just make chili, but it was fun to try it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      tasty and very satisfying

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      We weren't really sure how to eat this recipe so we put it in bowls and ate it with crackers. I was expecting it to be a little thicker. We drained the beans, but followed the recipe otherwise. I wish I would have used diced tomatoes like the previous reviewer did. We made it because we just so happened to have extra ground beef and garbanzo beans. Not sure we'd make it again. We thought the taste was nice, but it's just not our type of meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      This recipe reminded me of chili with garbanzo beans. It didn't have the thickness that chili has, it was watery, which isn't a bad thing. I didn't have any tomato sauce so I used diced tomatoes instead, and I preferred the chunky tomato consistency. I wasn't really impressed with this recipe, I don't plan on making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      This was quite good and easy to put together. Will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      Not very casserole-y to me; more like a stew. I topped with flat leaf parsley and feta, and served it over white rice and found it more satisfying. Freezes well. Thanks, Angela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      I've made it twice, once with chickpeas and corn and once with chickpeas, corn and kidney beans. It is very tasty and filling but it still feels "light". It is also a good way to stretch a pound of beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef and Garbanzo Bean Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 434.3
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    32%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 61.6 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1252.8 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 26.9 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes