23 Reviews

We had a BBQ this weekend and had a ton of left over grilled burgers. I was looking for a recipe to use some the meat. I crumbled the burgers and made recipe as directed topped with cheddar cheese. I did not bake, I simply simmered over med heat. Turned out great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxanne_carson June 15, 2009

I made this on the stove top with both white corn and garbanzos fully drained. After reading the reviews re being watery I decided to not put any water in it. Rather than the 15 oz can of tomato sauce, I added a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes and a 6 oz can of sauce after I let all the liquids simmer out. Then turned it down very low for about 1/2 hour and added a pinch of beau monde and a few drops of Magi to add some depth and richness. Came out very good. Served it along side some rice cooked with beef broth. Everyone loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lescobar April 25, 2009

Quick, easy and delicious. Will definitely make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy Cromack August 21, 2003

Quick, easy, delish, and healthy! If you enjoy spice, I recommend doubling the cumin, an adding 1/2 tsp cayenne! I agree with other users who pass on adding extra water:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vbkelly1 April 20, 2012

Wonderful meal! Warm and Very Filling! Thank You for Sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A1Mickeyluvr September 22, 2011

What a fabulous dish. I used lean ground beef and 2 cans of garbanzo beans. Next time I am going to experiment with corn and kidney beans. Very flavorful yet healthy dish. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelaTN April 13, 2010

What a great dish! Fast and delicious! Love recipes with the added bonus of chickpeas!! ;) Used a little more tomato sauce and added some Tabasco. Thanks for sharing! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie March 26, 2010

My husband and my 2 and 5 years old loved it. I wasn't expecting it to be good because there are so many 3 stars review but was I surprised. I don't find that it lacks flavour at all. I did not bake it in the oven, I cooked it right on the stove. Use 1 can of beans and 1 can of corn, undrained. My family loved it so much that they asked me to make it again. Serve with brown rice, really filling.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adaang3water June 12, 2008

I hate to admit that I didn't have high hopes for this recipe, as I'm not a casserole girl. But, we absolutely loved it. I had 1 can of garbanzo beans to use up (hoping to find a way to sneak them by DH & DS) & this recipe was perfect. Everything else is always on hand & it went together very quickly. I used one can of white corn & served it over rice. As I was putting the beef mixture into a casserole dish I envisioned it topped with mashed potatoes that were lightly broiled at the end of baking.... & then at dinner when I told the family of my daydream they got into the action & came up with a version that would be wrapped in flour tortillas with or without rice & one with pasta instead of rice. I think this is going to be a versatile & very quick go-to meal for busy weeknights. I couldn't be more pleased that I tried this one. UPDATE: Freezes very well. Would definitely recommend for OAMC. Even my picky toddler ate it! Thanks so much for posting, Angela!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** April 14, 2008

A very nice dish quite reminiscent of chili without the "oomph".

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypaul February 28, 2004
Ground Beef and Garbanzo Bean Casserole