7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We enjoyed this, but next time will season it up a bit more. I used leftover taco meat for my ground beef but it still needed a bit more for our tastes.
Voted it a Keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babsygirl January 29, 2013

Even my very picky boys liked this! I didn't have frozen potatoes so just diced and boiled some, they were a little bland so I think next time I will add some garlic salt. I also added some sauteed mushrooms to the beef, will definently put more of those in next time!!!! Definently a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kandb520 November 03, 2010

My husband and I thought this recipe was delicious !!! I couldn't find the o'brien potatoes so i added onions and green peppers to plain cubed hash browns. It turned out great just need more salt for our tastes. Thank you !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry & Carl July 23, 2010

This is a great comfort food dish. Easy to make and very tasty. I halved the recipe and cooked it in an 8 x 8 baking dish. The O'Brien potatoes I purchased had chopped onions and peppers in them so I omitted the chopped onion listed in the recipe. Although I halved the recipe I still used almost a pound of ground beef. All the ingredients worked well together. I especially liked the cream of mushroom soup/sour cream mixture. Went together quickly and I soon had a filling and delicious dish on the table. Made for May 2010 Aus/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 May 08, 2010

Very easy to make and it tasted great! I followed the directions except I added more cheese to the top at the end and it got rave reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vzsara October 24, 2009

This was easy to make. I followed the recipe other then I didn't cook the beef in the vegetable oil. Also my bag of obrien potatoes was 28 ounces. I did cook my potatoes on the stove to cut down on the oven cooking time. I used Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup instead of the canned soup. We did think this needed a lot more seasoning. I did add a good bit of pepper and salt. Nice, easy weeknight meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol June 30, 2009

Easy, yummy, stick-to-your-ribs meal. I didn't have the frozen potatoes, so I used 6 fresh & baked them in the microwave while I browned the meat. I will use less salt next time and add a little more milk to the soup mixture for a creamier texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookEBaker February 07, 2009
Ground Beef and Au Gratin Potatoes