11 Reviews

Not my cup of tea. The end result was a slimy piece of watermelon that was less sweet and juicy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens August 02, 2012

Wow! This really brings out the natural sweetness of the watermelon. Yes, the surface texture is a little slimy, but the fruit maintains a little bit of firmness. The people who say that it's not sweet or lacking in flavor have clearly done something wrong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seth C. June 04, 2015

No. Just no. We thought we would give this recipe a try based on the reviews. No one in our family could stomach this. It is rare that I try something and feel the need to spit it out, but here we are. If you really feel that you must try grilled watermelon, do yourself a favor and only try the recipe with a single slice so that you aren't left throwing away an entire melon. I really can not state strongly enough just how bad this was.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 10, 2015

I've never grilled watermelon before! Such a nice treat. We really enjoyed it. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 August 12, 2012

We both enjoyed this new and different way to serve watermelon. It was quick and easy to make and had a lovely roasted flavor, that was definitely watermelon, but not sweet at all. The olive oil, sea salt and fresh ground black pepper gave it a real savory element . A lovely dense texture that was juicy. I agree that this would be wonderful as a base for salsa. Thanks for sharing JanuaryBride. Made for the Fearless Red Dragons - ZWT8 - Australia

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato August 11, 2012

Hubs gave it a 3, but I didn't like it - sorry. It was a texture and flavor thing for me. It definitely changed the way the watermelon tasted. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D August 06, 2012

Different and tasty way to serve watermelon! Not at all sweet, yet still tasted like watermelon. I used just a touch of pepper and thought that was just right. Thanks for sharing your recipe! Made for ZWT8, Chefs gone WILD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof August 04, 2012

My first time grilling watermelon too, although not the first time having it with salt. I thought this was great. I definitely want to use it "in" something, not the sort of side I'd eat on its own - well actually, it would be an interesting surprise for our next BBQ party guests, serve it up alongside their burger. After reading some of the reviews I think I may have been too light with the salt. The sweetness of the melon actually intensified for me, so it could have taken a touch more. I was amazed at how well it held together on the grill ... proper little watermelon steaks! Cut yourself a few extra slices if you're worried about presentation, I broke a few tips off in the salt/rest stage. Thanks for sharing JB, I'm so happy I tried this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner July 20, 2010

Never griiled watermelon before, so I had to try.. mixed ratings kids absolutely loved it, I thought it was okay, and would have again, adjusting the amount of sea salt, might have put to much I think.. and DS, didn't care for it. Have plenty of water melon left over, and will decrease the sea salt and pepper and will update. Made for Recipe Swap #42.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker July 03, 2010

I had to try grilled watermelon - which, hubby and I decided, isn't for us (though it isn't disgusting or anything). I had a little left-over pineapple and decided to throw it on the grill with the watermelon (I've never grilled any fruit before) and it turns out that we LOVE grilled pineapple - so I'm delighted that I tried this recipe! Made for ZWT5, and I'm a Groovy GastroGnome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady May 11, 2009
Grilled Watermelon