13 Reviews

One word YUM!!! I'm not a huge fan of venison but I now know what to do with my freezer full. Not gamey at all! Thank you-can't wait to make a big batch to freeze.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Kinser April 08, 2004

I really enjoyed these burgers. The taste was great, I think it was the dry mustard. When I went to make them I didn't have any onions, but they still tasted good. The big shocker was picky eater son, ate the whole thing! That speaks for itself! Thanks for the terrific recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula April 15, 2003

OMG! These are the best venison burgers I have ever tasted. I added some minced garlic to the recipe, just because I love it so much. I make large batches of these and freeze them so that when the craving hits I have them on hand (and yes, I do crave them from time to time).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie B. January 26, 2015

I've never made venison burgers before, chose this recipe. Had to make a few modifications (i.e. real egg whites, etc.) that were minor due to items on hand. Turned out great. Cooked on the charcoal grill. A little overdone, but that's the cook, not the recipe! My son loved the burger and that's enough proof for me. Thank you, will make again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RHOS April 18, 2014

i used real egg and cooked them both from the udefrosted and frozen state on the GRILL on LOW and they turned out fabulous! Everyone loved them! so great to have a good venison burger recipe that doesn't crumble and fall apart!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TiffanyBliss May 07, 2010

Modified this recipe to lessen the meatloaf association and turned out excellent. Made 25 2.5 oz. mini-burgers from 4 lbs. ground deer (buck). 25 - 2.5oz. burgers · 4 lbs lean ground venison · 4 eggs – 1 egg per lb of deer · 6 tablespoons 2% milk – 2/3 tablespoons per lb of deer · 6 tablespoons water - 2/3 tablespoons per lb of deer · 1 1/3 cup breadcrumb – 1/3 per lb of deer · 1 cup finely chopped onion (only had one cup could use more) · 3/4 teaspoon salt – 1/5.3 teaspoon per lb of deer (good luck with that, ha) · 3/4 teaspoon black pepper – 1/5.3 teaspoon per lb of deer · 1 teaspoon dry mustard – ¼ teaspoon per lb of deer · 1/2 teaspoon parsley – 1/8 teaspoon per lb of deer Follow mixing instructions. Slightly froze patties(about 1 hour) to ease transfer to grill. Cooked ~5mins per side (medium well to well but very juicy). Moved to low flame and added grilled onion and/or sliced Jalapeño peppers and covered with cheese of choice. Melt cheese and serve. Thanks for the starter recipe and all the reviews, they really helped.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tic777 January 31, 2010

These hamburgers were juicy and delicious. The patties held together beautifully and everyone loved them. I've tried other recipes and none have come close. I was in a rush and used onion powder and a real egg because that's what I had. I also used 2 lbs. of meat because of all the boys I have to feed, I did not increase the other ingredients. I cooked them in a cast iron skillet with butter. I'm saving this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stein Farm December 10, 2009

not sure what some people seem to be expecting that they would be so high-handed as to leave a lowly 3 star rating...someone gifted me some ground venison & this recipe was the perfect fit! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas October 11, 2009

These were good, but I agree, more of a meatloaf type flavor than we were looking for in a burger. I think you could kick this up with the addition of some Tony's to get more of the flavor we were after.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou October 14, 2007

This recipe inspired me to start using all the ground venison my mother-in-law has given me. To accomodate my husband's allergies, I omitted the powdered milk and used a few egg yolks in place of the egg substitute. The burgers had just the right consistency and a nice flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Femina Epulae August 29, 2006
"Grilled" Venison Burgers