14 Reviews

I could defintially not tell that this was venison, it was soo tender! I think it could have alittle more taste, alittle more spicier, but maybe it just has to be marinated longer. Will probably try again. It was very tender so thats a major plus.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gooshbaby May 12, 2009

This was good but I found the ginger over powering, maybe I just don't like deer, but it was very tender!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shawna_marie86 November 18, 2008

Im sad to give this disappointing review. This was our first deer my husband killed. I found this recipe excited to try this with him. We marinated for a little more than 48 hours. It was way to sweet like a teriyaki flavor, it made us not want to eat, we used steak sauce or barbecue sauce to dip in to cover it up. :( glad others liked it in reviews- just not good for our family :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m January 10, 2014

Very delicious! I marinated and my husband grilled this amazing venison steak when my parents came over. So tender and great flavor. They loved it! We took a little of the leftover's to my inlaws. My father-in-law (who has been grilling venison steaks for years) loved it and said he will have to start marinating:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AustinsAm April 23, 2013

super good. didn't change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Stiles May 22, 2009

This marinated was very good. I did marinade for more than the recommended time, but still good. Would be good on beef as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danielle.aldinger May 14, 2008

This was very good, I marinated for 72 hours. We felt it a tad sweet for our tastes, but very good nonetheless! I acutally used elk steaks instead of venison.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear March 29, 2008

This is the only way to eat venison steak!!! This is our family favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aigsheets February 20, 2008

This was perfect. We actually ended up marinating for 72 hours. We are definitely making it again- I just put together another batch for sunday dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andreaorvik January 04, 2008

I've used this recipe half a dozen times and it is AMAZING. The only thing I could possible add is to wrap the venison up in a pocket of foil before grilling so the juices don't escape. It also keeps this way and isn't too bad when reheated. Even non-venison eaters love it!!! Thanks for finding it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewport November 25, 2007
Grilled Venison