Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Tuna Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Tuna Steak

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2011

      Really easy to prepare with really great taste!
      I substituted some regular chili powder for chili flakes, then added a pinch of habanero chili powder to give it a little extra kick. Grilled on high heat, 3 minutes per side for 2-inch thick steaks to get them medium rare to rare.
      Thanks Rita for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2014

      This marinade was excellent for tuna and for mushrooms on the side. We could have been at a swanky restaurant, it was so good. I did make this twice. The first time we marinaded for a short time (about 30 min) and it turned out great. The second time I left it in the marinade for a day before grilling. That time the marinade was a little over-powering for the fish, so I recommend marinading the same day as you cook. Definitely use the extra marinade to cook down and pour over the fish and vegies on the side. Super good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      I had a sneaking suspicion that I would like this recipe. Turns out, I was wrong... I LOVED it! Perfect balance of sweet and salty for lovely tuna steaks. Unfortunately, our weather didn't cooperate, so I had to broil rather than grill the steaks. I can't wait to try them grilled!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      Thanks for an easy recipe with a great taste!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      should have rated this long ago. we LOVE this recipe!! the marinade is fantastic and so flavorful that you barely need the sauce version later but still so good that i use it, too!! i sear this for about 1 - 2 minutes on each side in a cast iron pan on the stove and it turns a lovely, tender, light pink on the inside. delicious! and i bet it would be wonderful on a bed of greens, but we never have any leftovers!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Delicious! I marinated the tuna steaks for 5 hours and doubled the marinade reserving half of it prior to marinating. I used 1/2 of the reserved marinade to slather on the fish while it was being grilled as I had tossed the marinade that had the raw fish in it out. the remaining reserved marinade I made a sauce as stated in the recipe. We had sushi grade and the photo is of my steak as I like it medium rare and my DH likes it rare. Made for I recommend tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      This tuna was just delicious!Here are a few things that worked for me: I put the marinade in a Food s Saver plastic bag along with the tuna and vacuumed out the air which made the flavors penetrate in less time (45mins.). And because it was snowing outside I seared the tuna on the stovetop in a very hot pan using a small amount of peanut oil. Reducing the marinade in a separate pan and plating it with the sacue underneath and faning out slices of the beautiful seared tuna made for a lovely presentation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      I found this recipe last-minute and decided to make it even though it says to marinate/chill for 2 hours. My steaks only marinated about 10 minutes but it was still oh so good! I used a cast iron grill pan (since it's freezing outside right now) and it turned out excellent. The fish was tender and had a wonderful flavor, and the extra sauce was good drizzled over the steaks and veggies. My fiance asked that I make this again soon, with double sauce so we can use it as a salad dressing as well. Next time I'll marinate and it will probably be even better! Thanks Rita L! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2004

      Fantastic flavor - I also made several small alterations due to ingredient availability. The hint of sesame and ginger is outstanding. Enjoyed it so much I went back to the store for more tuna to make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2003

      DH loved this. I used powdered ginger in place of fresh and olive oil in place of sesame oil and cooked in frying pan. Next time will grill it. Very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      This was really good, even with my substitutions! I will try again with all the original ingredients next time. The changes I had to make due to pantry limitations were: red wine vinegar for the rice wine vinegar, maple sugar for the brown sugar, and dried ginger for the fresh ginger. It was still excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      Rita my dear friend this recipe is really good! The sauce has a very Asian influence with a slight kick from the red pepper flakes and black pepper. I used fresh cracked black pepper which I highly recommend. The picture I uploaded is for a very rare tuna which is my absolute fave! The only tiny thing I wished for was a little more sweet so next time, and there will be a next time, I will use a little more brown sugar. Just my personal preference. Divine recipe my friend! I knew when I searched here for a grilled tuna recipe and saw your name that this would be special! Thanks for never disappointing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      Very tasty. I pan-fried it and included this roasted asparagus for the side.
      http://www.food.com/recipe/roasted-asparagus-50847

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      This is delicious and easy. I discovered I'd run out of sesame oil so I used 1 Tbsp sesame paste (tahini) instead, which worked just fine. Used half regular and half lower sodium soy sauce to prevent the marinade from being too salty. This beautiful fish and the thickened marinade sauce went well with steamed asparagus and brown basmat rice. Mmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Very good, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      Very easy and I love the sauce flavor. However, I think it is on the salty side. The next time, I will reduce the soysauce or maybe dilute it with some water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      absolutely a delicious meal! It was so simple and tasty. I used a little bit of corn starch in the sauce to thicken it up and added it on to some veggies for a side as I didn't use 3lbs of tuna. Mmmm. A new household favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      Awesome recipe. Made for ZWT7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Both my husband and I loved this recipe and will use this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Tuna Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 366.4
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    32%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 86.1 mg
    28%
    Sodium 982.1 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 54.6 g
    109%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    fresh ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites