64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was absolutely wonderful tuna. We used YellowFin Tuna Steaks, (I don't recommend Albacore) and I couldn't believe how good they were. If I didn't know I was eating tuna, I'd swear it was steak. I do believe like some of the reviews that it was a bit salty, but I think it was because the Old Bay may have been a bit older than normal shelf-life. I will tell anyone who wants to enjoy a really good tuna, don't overcook it. It needs to be dark pink inside for it to be tender & flavorful. Thanks for posting!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat September 07, 2008

REALLY? How could something so basic be so good? I made this tonight and was blown away by how good it was. I didn't have lime so I used all lemon, other than that, no changes. I seared the tuna on the hot side of a gas grill, then moved it to indirect heat to finish it up. I cooked it rare and it was delicious.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madriley61 May 29, 2010

Excellent! I pan seared mine in a little butter (and cast iron) and cooked until they were just pink through the middle half.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leithead June 06, 2010

This was my first time ever having tuna that didnt come from a can so I wasent quite sure what to expect. It tasted really good, and as a previous reviewer stated, I only used three teaspoons of Old Bay. The other members of my family thought it was just right but I sprinkled on a little more. I think I made a mistake tho, marinating the fish in the refrigerator instead of on the counter. I grilled it to what I thought would be the desired doneness and sampled it but it was still cold in the middle. I kept on cooking it on the cooler side of the grill hoping it would warm up but not overcook, yet it still became dry. Tuna appears to be really easy to overcook. I was still happy with it tho and plan on trying again! I served this with sauteed zucchini and a baked potato. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeLove July 15, 2011

Very good tuna. I served it with a basil vinaigrette, potatoes, and salad. Do be careful of the marinating time. Mine started to cook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 28, 2009

This is awesome!! I tried this tonight and this is my first review. Kimmie, the ingredients worked perfectly together. I did use half the Old Bay but I think next time I will try 3 teaspoons. I loved this and it is easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnee50 April 23, 2009

What a wonderful recipe! I love tuna at the best of times, but with this marinade it was 10 times better!! Absolutely divine, we both loved it and will definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog April 01, 2015

It was surprising to me how delicious this marinade is. Wow! I made these three additions to the recipe:
1) I washed the tuna thoroughly in hot water since I used frozen and don't like a fishy taste.
2) I marinated it for 4 hours instead of 20 minutes.
3) I sprinkled Old Bay Seasoning on the steaks as they grilled.

I didn't have Old Bay Seasoning on hand and since we live remotely in the mountains, I couldn't easily go pick some up. I used the recipe from another website to make my own seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NkWolf December 17, 2014

This is a very good recipe. My family just loves it. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn March 22, 2014

Very tasty. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D June 15, 2013
Grilled Tuna Steak