13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was an excellent marinade. There was lots of humming going on while it was eaten. Here in MS most butchers have not heard of a tri-tip. It is used for ground beef here. We're from CA and really missed having a good tri-tip roast cooked on the grill. We were fortunate enough to find this cut at Whole Foods in Memphis and this marinade made this expensive cut of meat well worth the price. Will definitely try this marinade on other cuts of beef and perhaps even pork.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim of MS July 26, 2010

Love This!!! My only comment is make sure you let the meat marrinate long enough!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jewhitman September 16, 2010

What a find this recipe was! Fabulous! The meat was so tender and flavorful, I have never bought a tri tip before.....this will be a family favorite for the summer....thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc August 10, 2009

Fabulous!! 5 stars

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea Parr June 17, 2009

Hello from Portugal, this is a really great marinade, quite different from the ones I usually make. I've never used lime or tequila for that matter on marinades, but this is a great combination the meat comes out so tasty. By the way the picture looks fantastic in my opinion, it looks even better on MY table! lololol!! I will be making this more often thats for sure, thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia #3 June 08, 2009

LOVED this marinade! It was different from any other marinade I've ever used before. It tasted marvelous grilled, so flavorful! The Tri-tip roast was lovely and moist, with little crusty blackened bits on the outside. I used a 50mL bottle of tequila, which was just a little under 1/4 cup. I also left the garlic cloves whole, but smashed them to release the flavor. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing, dicentra!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve May 25, 2009

This was really good. I did not have fresh cilantro and used ground cilantro seeds instead. And I put 1 teaspoon of cumin and 1/2 of lime zest - just personal preference. I only marinated it for 3 hours - it turned out just fine! But it does take a while to cook - for medium-rare - at least an hour. All of this aside - great, great, great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natashula May 09, 2009

Delicious! This made a nice change from the usual BBQ fare. By the way, I think Rosie Posie's comments are unfair; the person who posted the photo isn't the same person who posted the recipe, so whether or not that's a tri-tip in the photo doesn't have anything to do with whether or not the cook time in the recipe is correct. Anyway if you're not sure, just use your meat thermometer. Perfect results every time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GiddyUpGo April 05, 2009

OhMyGod, this was ToDieFor!!!! The flavor was through and through. My DH couldn't stop complimenting me on this dish. The only change I made was to use a 2 pound Beef Sirloin Tip Roast as my grocery store didn't have any Tri-Tip roasts. I cooked it on the grill about 15 minutes per side and it came out wonderful. I did marinate it for a day and a half so i'm sure this helped. Will make this again and again and try the marinade on steaks also. Thanks for submitting. Raylene:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefRaylene August 03, 2008

This was an excellent roast! So full of flavour and I only had time to marinate it for about 3 hours. Next time will definitely give it the overnight treatment. Did it on the BBQ and it took about 1 and a 1/2 hours and just kept turning it every 10 to 15 minutes. It could easily be done in the oven and make a very tasty gravy but the bbq is great - seals in the juices & flavour. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC May 10, 2008
Grilled Tri-Tip Roast With Tequila Marinade