13 Reviews

just about my favorite thing ever.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzieP August 03, 2009

I don't think I've ever made a recipe as quickly after finding it as I did this one - and I was not disappointed! This was an excellent sandwich! I had to improvise just a bit to use what I had (yellow cheddar & slices of small tomatoes not large ones). I used spicy globe basil that I grew from seed :) I will be doing this one again for sure! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 July 12, 2009

oh oh so good! I even went to the market to get a perfect tomato :) The sharp cheddar basil combo was ideal and i loved my lunch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba July 12, 2009

Yum, the white sharp white cheddar cheese really upped the cheesey flavor! Thanks! Made for Zaar Stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 26, 2009

We made this based on Chef #383346's review and really enjoyed it. We used fresh mozzerella, basil, and roma tomatoes on rye bread. Buddha felt it was perfect. Bird added salt and black pepper to spice it up a bit. Using fresh basil makes a world of difference. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu February 09, 2009

A wonderfully flavoursome brunch. I halved the recipe for two of us and made these yummy sandwiches on crusty ciabatta. I always love cheese and tomato sandwiches and the chopped basil - and having really flavoursome tomatoes - is just SO essential if you want to get the best from this recipe. I also added some garlic salt and freshly ground black pepper. A delicious sandwich which we'll certainly be enjoying another time. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder October 11, 2008

Delicious change of pace from a traditional grilled cheese. I loved the bright flavor of the basil mingling with the sharp cheddar (I had to use a blend of white and yellow as the mix was all that was available at the market I went to). The fresh sweetness of the tomatoes completed the melody perfectly! Thank you for posting. **Made for Aussie Tag 2008**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva September 30, 2008

This was part of a delicious Saturday Afternoon lunch. Used potato bread, american cheese, garden tomatoes and garden basil. I shredded the basil and toasted them on a griddle. These were delicious and satisfying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel September 13, 2008

I made just the one sandwich and with the fresh sweet basil freshly picked from the garden, the sharp vintage cheddar cheese and juicy tomatoe slices and crunchy wholemeal sliced bread from toasting - perfection. Thank you Lainey6605, made for Edition 5 - Make My Recipe - a game of tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 01, 2008

I too chopped the basil and made as directed otherwise. Good sandwich with juicey tomatoes and gooey cheese. Thanks Lainey. Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 29, 2008
Grilled Tomato & Cheese