Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Swiss & Tomato on Rye Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Swiss & Tomato on Rye

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2011

      Nice and simple twist on a classic. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      Yummy! This was a perfect lunch for me today. I had some beautiful tomatoes, and loved them with the swiss cheese and rye bread. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      Delicious! I used Winnipeg rye bread and instead of melting the butter, I just spread softened butter on the bread... I also added some crispy bacon - I figured if it need a little salt, porky goodness salt is the way to go! We dunked ours in sriracha sauce to up it a little bit...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      Can see why this is frequently ordered at Memorial Hospital as it makes a quick tasty meal. Used dark rye which was an excellent choice as the flavor worked well with the tomatoes and Swiss cheese. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      I envy when somebody thinks quick and gourmet. When I think like that, it comes out as a microwaved hot dog. Made for ZWT7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      After all of this ZWT food I really wanted something simple tonight and this fir the bill very well. I can't say that it's light with all of the cheese and butter but it sure is yummy. Used Canadian Rye bread (hubby's fave). Made for ZWT Witchen Kitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      Great! I used a rye bread that I made for one of the challenges for the tour. I cut it rather thick, slathered it with mayo (I always do that), and proceeded with the recipe. I loved the tomatoes with the swiis cheese. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7-Switzerland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      This made a nice lunch. Nice combo of tomato and Swiss cheese on the rye. Thanks! Made for the Food.Commandos for ZWT 2011-Switzerland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      Yum! I couldn't get dark rye, but I found sone delicious thickly sliced light rye. I used extra tomato and lots of black pepper. I love Swiss cheese, and rye bread! Made for ZWT7-Switzerland. (Vivacious Violets)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      I knew I couldn't go wrong with grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches for lunch and chose this recipe. Simple and delicious - I used good, vine-ripened tomatoes. Grilled longer than stated as we like our sandwiches more toasty. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

    • on February 04, 2011

      This sandwich is very yummy, so toasty, fresh and juicy. Loved the swiss cheese (I used low-fat) and tomato combination with the hearty bread. I used Kat's Sourdough Grain & Seed Bread for the bread and that was brilliant! :)
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this tasty treat with us, JB!
      Made and reviewed for Adopt a Veggie Tag 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      I too used to work in a hospital that had a grilled cheese/tomato sandwich that I loved. Of course, it was in TX and rye or pumpernickle was an unknown :) Everything on white. I rarely eat butter any more, but am so glad I made this as directed. Wonderful, crunchy, salty. I did use reduced fat swiss ant two slices of tomatoes per sandwich. Perfect sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      I made just the one as an afternoon snack for the DM and myself, delicious. I also made it in the sandwich press and added a little pepper on the tomatoe slices. Thank you JanuaryBride, made for Edition 5 - Make My Recipe - a game of tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Swiss & Tomato on Rye

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 534.2
     
    Calories from Fat 315
    58%
    Total Fat 35.0 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 21.3 g
    106%
    Cholesterol 97.3 mg
    32%
    Sodium 683.0 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 20.8 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites