9 Reviews

What a wonderful way to make onions. This is similar to my pan version, but so much easier and less messy! They flavor was great! The prep & clean up were very simple. I made these to go along with My Favorite Rouladen (not "my" actual recipe... just what it was titled) and also had a side of left-over Grilled Potatoes. Thank you for posting this recipe. We will use it often this summer! (Made for "Name That Ingredient" tag)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 June 20, 2013

I love grilled sweet onions...this recipe didn't disappoint us...I really enjoyed the throw it together and forget about it method...I waited until the onions were cooked before adding the seasoning salt...I cooked mine 30 minutes in hope of having a slight bite to the onion...that's what I got...I did the happy dance...thanks for posting it...=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas June 04, 2013

Made as given, though I did cut the recipe in half for the 2 of us! Absolutely delicious onions, & so much nicer than just a slice of regular onion! Great flavor & a great keeper recipe, too! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 10, 2011

So so simple but so so tasty a perfect partner for my sirloin steak. perfect, just perfect. Thank you for posting. Made for the diabetic forum, July 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny July 14, 2011

YUMMY! We loved this tasty side. Very easy to make and great flavor too! Made for Potluck Tag 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo September 06, 2010

I love onions in many forms--in salads, on a burger, atop a steak. I'd even eat onion ice cream. Very good, indeed! Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng July 25, 2010

Delicious and easy! I used a Vidalia onion, and it turned out wonderful. Made for newest tag game. Thanks for another great recipe, diner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom July 25, 2010

A nice easy side for grill night. Made using sweet Walla Walla Onions. Liked the way the garlic and butter cooked right into the onion. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl July 24, 2010

Very nice side dish. Made as listed with wonderful results. Will make this one again, so easy!!!
Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeatrice July 15, 2010
Grilled Sweet Onions