15 Reviews

I made these last week and they were delicious. I halved the recipe because it was just my hubby and I and we had 6 small caps instead. I chopped and cooked the stems in some olive oil and italian bread crumbs and folded it into the mixture. Only had large tmatoes so topped each with one slice. We did 3 w/parm, 3 w/mozz and both preferred the mozz but the parm was still yummy. Served with couscous and a salad with a delicious strawberry vinaigrette I found on here (Deborah Lee's Strawberry Vinaigrette Dressing) I left some comments/suggestions about that too. Hubby loved it all. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison 333 July 27, 2008

These are very tasty and I would definitely recommend trying them! However I felt they were missing something. This is a recipe I will absolutely be playing around with. Because the mushrooms are so juicy and the filling is so creamy they just need some "bite" in my opinion (especially as a main dish/side, as a first coarse they're perfect!) I added some chopped walnuts and really enjoyed that , but I didn't use enough. I think I may try adding in some cooked rice along with more nuts. I was nervous about the canned artichokes. I never liked them before and I NEVER used them before, but I wanted something different and they were excellent in this recipe. Thanks Kitten!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma July 07, 2010

Outstanding! Even my 3 year old who hates mushrooms ate this with delight. At least 4-5 good sized bites! Amazing! I won't be missing steak anytime soon..... Here's what I changed: -For the herbs I added half dried basil and half dried oregano. Fresh would probably be even better. -I used neufchatel (1/3 fat cream cheese) rather than cream cheese. -Used grape tomato rather than plums, since grapes looked better at the store. A little more work, but a great winter tomato. -Didn't use salt until after cooking and added it to taste. -Did add some of the Paul Prudhomme's salt free seasoning to the mushroom cap prior to assembling. Recipe made the perfect amount of stuffing for 8 portabellos. Cooked for 10 minutes on the grill. Perfection! Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseAnita January 14, 2008

These mushrooms are truly outstanding! My boyfriend is a trained chef and he is very hard to impress - he loved them! They will be a staple at my summer BBQs this year! I used fresh oregano but thought it was a little overpowering. Next time I will use more garlic and less oregano. Thanks Kittencal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori-Ann F. June 17, 2007

This was a great recipe, I used fresh lemon juice and my hubby thought they were too lemony - I disagreed so I still gave it 5 stars but for those who don't love the acidic taste of lemon like I do you may want to cut down on the lemon juice a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
partysweets March 31, 2013

the portabella's were really expensive at the grocery story so we got the baby bellas instead - i put them on heavy tinfoil on the grill and now my vegetarian girlfriend likes to grill with me :) - thank you for the recepe - the baby bellas were perfect bite size, but the filling was enough for about 4 dozen of the baby bellas - ill probably just do a half batch next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjg874 May 17, 2012

Kittencal, you're a genius. This one knocks it outta the park every time. Even with the carnivorous crowd. Thanks a million!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hungry valkyrie February 16, 2012

I cooked these for 10 min. at 250 and they still were not hot in the center. I recommend cooking longer, and hotter. Just to keep them out of the microwave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bruce Briggs December 26, 2011

I am a meat and potatoes kind of guy but this is awsome. I have never had a portabella mushroom to boot either. I made it just like the receipe and this was a pleasent surprise. Cheap and easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Man Cook July 12, 2010

These made a perfectly wonderful evening meal with no other dishes on the side. Fantastic flavours and texture. DH whispered in awe, 'can we have these again tomorrow?' : ) I made the filling a day ahead to let the flavours build and to save time. Thank you so much. I'd like to serve these portabella's as a first course when we have company, and follow up with a light Italian entree.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues June 06, 2010
Grilled Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms (Vegetarian)