Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Salmon and Smokey Tomato-chipotle Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Salmon and Smokey Tomato-chipotle Sauce

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2014

      This sauce is outrageous. We loved it and can see using it on so many different grilled dishes. It would be wonderful on grilled or smoked chicken and can't wait to try it on them. Will become a regular here with us, we love spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      The sauce is spectacular. Because we were snowed in, I had to substitute tomato sauce instead of canned tomatoes and I baked the salmon at 425degrees for about 15 minutes instead of grilling. My husband and I were WOWED! I love how the chipotle sauce had a great kick but didn't overpower the roasted salmon. He even said it was the best salmon I had ever made. Thanks for a warm meal on such a cold night and thanks a million for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      The sauce in this recipe is incredibility delicious. The seasonings and ingredients are just right. My DH thought it was super! I have left over sauce today and plan to use it with a black bean and chicken recipe. I am sure it will be delicious! This sauce could be used on almost any type of meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      DELICIOUS! The sauce is so flavorful-smoky and spicy-and comes together easily. Only change was that I used grilled catfish. I served over a bed of linguine that I simply tossed w/ butter, cilantro, lime juice, and I topped all w/ sliced avocado. (Would be great w/ grilled chicken, too.) Thank you for a great recipe!!! UPDATE: I used the leftover sauce as a sub for rotel tomatoes when making pork chili verde in my crock pot and it came out fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I used just the sauce to accompany a simple salmon cake recipe from elsewhere since all I had was canned salmon. Wow, the sauce is incredible! It ended up being devoured faster than I expected, so I actually watered it down a little (about 3:1 sauce to water) and it still had enough vim and vigour to be awesome. I liked that the sauce was so savoury with just enough of a spicy kick to keep you on your toes. The chipotle chile adds a really nice smokey flavour. I also found that substituting fresh tomatoes for the canned ones and normal salt rather than kosher salt worked alright, but I did add a little extra salt to make up for not having kosher salt. I highly recommend this sauce for accompanying salmon. Of course, I'll have to try the salmon fillet part now, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This is an excellent salmon dish with the rich taste of the chipotle chilies. The chilies give the salmon a wonderful smoked and spicy taste. The next time we make this dish, we will add more of the chipootle chilies to add more of a kick. Thank you for sharing your tips on grilling the salmon and this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      Delicious grilled fish recipe with a scrumptious sauce. The grilling instructions were right on. I made up my own chipotles in adobo sauce using the last 3 of a treasured hoard of dried chipotles. Cooked them in a spicy-rich, oniony tomato sauce and proceeded with recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      WOW!!! The tomato chipotle sauce was to die for. I used 2 chipotle chilies because we like spicy and also used a little of the adobe sauce. It was fantastic. I had extra sauce left over so we will try this over grilled chicken later this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      Yummy dinner tonight! I scaled this down for me. I made this for the Sizzling to Grill Mexican Challenge Zaar World Tour. Thank you Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      This was excellent. Even my husband, who is not a big fan of salmon, liked this dish a lot. I served it with a side of rotini to soak up the extra sauce-- wonderful!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      Very good fish with easy grillling directions. We usually don't have sauce with fish but this sauce is very good. I also thought the sauce would be very good on noodles. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Salmon and Smokey Tomato-chipotle Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (562 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 480.7
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    34%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 165.3 mg
    55%
    Sodium 442.8 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 65.6 g
    131%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes