13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love Reuben sandwich so just had to try this open faced grilled version and only have one word Yum! I made as written using good but not too strong sauerkraut as I did not want it to take away from the Gouda. Thanks for the very yummy post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl April 30, 2012

I really enjoyed this twist on the Reuben. I used deli corned beef and smoked gouda to get the smoky flavor. Hubby liked it but tends to prefer the classic. Thanks for posting! Reviewed for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvinlif2k May 26, 2010

Glass of wine, no snorning spouse, power of the remote and a late night snack = HEAVEN! Oh, gouda's listed in ingredients, but Swiss is listed in instructions, so I made 2 (one of each). Made for ZWT #6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 23, 2010

Yum! This was really simple and very good. I too usually use 1000 Island dressing and the Russian dressing really hit the spot. Used deli corned beef and some smoked gouda. Thanks Sage for a real treat. Made for ZWT6 by one of the Unrulies Under the Influence.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme May 21, 2010

I was gonna make this for my husband, but he decieded he doesn't like saurkraut, so I made it for myself, leaving out the meat(I'm a vegetarian). It was great! I used the last of my smoked Gouda and made up some Russian dressing. Thanks Sage/Rita! Made for Zaar World Tour4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 31, 2008

The end of a long Memorial Day weekend, and we really didn't have a thing in the house to put together. We only had bits of this and that. I had made some rye bread last week so had 3 slices of that. Made Russian Dressing from a big salad last week. Had one small can of sauerkraut in cupboard, last bit of corned beef and the very last chunk of a gouda that was left from Easter. I had everything then to prepare this wonderful sandwich that fill our stomachs and enjoyed every last bit of it. I warmed the sauerkraut in a pan, took it out and set aside. In same pan warmed meat, set aside. Put a bit of butter in pan toasted rye bread added cheese. Added back meat topped it off and ran under broiler until cheese was melted. This is wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! Thank you Sage! Made for *ZWT4* Germany Region.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm May 27, 2008

yummy! I used the traditional pastrami. I grilled them the way I grill cheese (heat skillet on medium high heat, butter outside of each slice of bread - then assemble sandwich - toast on each side until brown) but did heat ingredients first. Loved this! And so did my DD (before tasting she says - do I like this mommy? then took a bite and made happy noises!). Thanks for the post. ZWT 3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA HIKER June 23, 2007

My favorite sandwich! Russian dressing and gouda cheese really make a different and delicious Reuben! My Stepson loved it so much that I am making another corned beef brisket so he can eat them for lunch for a few more days. He thinks you da bomb, Sage!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber June 20, 2007

Reuben sandwiches are one my very favorites! I had never tried it before with Russian Dressing -- always 1,000 Island, but I think I like the Russian Dressing better! Also, I used Swiss Cheese slices because I couldn't find Gouda...AND, I used deli-sliced pastrami for the meat! I'm having this for lunch today and truly enjoying my lunch hour! Good stuff! :) —

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacky5 June 09, 2006
Grilled Reuben Sandwich