10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Family Favorite Very easy to make I added portabella mushrooms

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Millertyme November 01, 2009

Good lord this is delicious. I have actually made this twice now and just got around to reviewing it. The first time I made it as written and it was amazing. The second time I needed to use up some stuff so I made a couple of changes. Instead of the olive oil and what not I used some pesto and I added some grilled zucchini that was left over from the night before. It was to die for! Even with the pesto and zucchini it was still light tasting but filling. I want to go get more bread and provolne and make it again! lol

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebellemichelle November 12, 2008

Yummm. I think that Reds is going to become my Sandwich Go To Lady! This is a great lunch made with beautifully ripe tomatoe's. The oil, garlic and oregano are the perfect touch. I used sourdough and pan grilled mine. Marvelous!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia March 04, 2008

This sandwich is fantastic! We've made it lots of times, and I just remembered I'd never reviewed it when I made it for brunch. It's quite simple to make, but the flavors are complex and wonderful. I use fresh basil in it all the time. Never thought of using mushrooms, that's a great idea. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb R October 08, 2011

Perfect when you want something light with very clean flavors - this was a perfect lunch for us after all the heavy food of the season we've had the past few days! Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX December 23, 2007

LOVED it. Made it as soon as i tagged it in 123 tag, and it is terrific. I used fresh oregano, and an heirloom tomato on no fat baguette. Oh it hit the spot

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba October 15, 2007

Oh my, this is delicious. I made mine on my George Foreman grill and it turned out perfectly. So easy and so yummy. Thanks, Redsie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 July 27, 2007

By rights this ought to have been a 5-star recipe. I had a succession of freak issues but could still taste hints of its greatness. So I decided that the fair thing to do was to comment without stars because it should have been wonderful but for the freaks of fate. First, I tagged it for a game without realizing that it can only be made properly on a grill that closes on the sandwhich and cooks it from both sides simultaneously. Rather than declare a mistag I thought about the situation and decided that it could be done on my regular grill if I wrapped them in foil so they didn't fall apart. Second, drought stress has afflicted my tomatoes with blossom end rot to the point where I have to pick them half-ripe so that they taste store bought. Third, medium on an indoor grill and medium on a regular, gas grill are different enough that I burned them -- and didn't realize it until they were rather well charred. I suggest that if you do them on a regular, gas grill that you use low heat and leave the lid open. It went together easily and smelled incredible even as I assembled it. BTW -- I used double the recipe to feed 4. A single, 12" baguette would only have fed one teenager. BTW2-- I made one with provolone and one with mozzarella because one kid doesn't like provolone. Both versions were equally hinting at greatness. BTW3 -- About 3 hours later my 15yo son came out to the living room and asked, "When can we have those sandwiches again?"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3KillerBs July 10, 2007

Wonderful and so easy! I did this on my Panini maker using a little olive oil on the outside of my sandwiches to grill. This has wonderful flavor and I will be making again very soon! Thank you, Redsie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 20, 2007

Delicious! I wish I could have used tomatoes from the garden, but this was really good using storebought! Thanks Redsie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 19, 2007
Grilled Provolone, Tomato and Oregano Sandwich