Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Provolone, Tomato and Oregano Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Provolone, Tomato and Oregano Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2009

      Family Favorite Very easy to make I added portabella mushrooms

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Good lord this is delicious. I have actually made this twice now and just got around to reviewing it. The first time I made it as written and it was amazing. The second time I needed to use up some stuff so I made a couple of changes. Instead of the olive oil and what not I used some pesto and I added some grilled zucchini that was left over from the night before. It was to die for! Even with the pesto and zucchini it was still light tasting but filling. I want to go get more bread and provolne and make it again! lol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Yummm. I think that Reds is going to become my Sandwich Go To Lady! This is a great lunch made with beautifully ripe tomatoe's. The oil, garlic and oregano are the perfect touch. I used sourdough and pan grilled mine. Marvelous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      This sandwich is fantastic! We've made it lots of times, and I just remembered I'd never reviewed it when I made it for brunch. It's quite simple to make, but the flavors are complex and wonderful. I use fresh basil in it all the time. Never thought of using mushrooms, that's a great idea. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Perfect when you want something light with very clean flavors - this was a perfect lunch for us after all the heavy food of the season we've had the past few days! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      LOVED it. Made it as soon as i tagged it in 123 tag, and it is terrific. I used fresh oregano, and an heirloom tomato on no fat baguette. Oh it hit the spot

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      Oh my, this is delicious. I made mine on my George Foreman grill and it turned out perfectly. So easy and so yummy. Thanks, Redsie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      By rights this ought to have been a 5-star recipe. I had a succession of freak issues but could still taste hints of its greatness. So I decided that the fair thing to do was to comment without stars because it should have been wonderful but for the freaks of fate. First, I tagged it for a game without realizing that it can only be made properly on a grill that closes on the sandwhich and cooks it from both sides simultaneously. Rather than declare a mistag I thought about the situation and decided that it could be done on my regular grill if I wrapped them in foil so they didn't fall apart. Second, drought stress has afflicted my tomatoes with blossom end rot to the point where I have to pick them half-ripe so that they taste store bought. Third, medium on an indoor grill and medium on a regular, gas grill are different enough that I burned them -- and didn't realize it until they were rather well charred. I suggest that if you do them on a regular, gas grill that you use low heat and leave the lid open. It went together easily and smelled incredible even as I assembled it. BTW -- I used double the recipe to feed 4. A single, 12" baguette would only have fed one teenager. BTW2-- I made one with provolone and one with mozzarella because one kid doesn't like provolone. Both versions were equally hinting at greatness. BTW3 -- About 3 hours later my 15yo son came out to the living room and asked, "When can we have those sandwiches again?"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Wonderful and so easy! I did this on my Panini maker using a little olive oil on the outside of my sandwiches to grill. This has wonderful flavor and I will be making again very soon! Thank you, Redsie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      Delicious! I wish I could have used tomatoes from the garden, but this was really good using storebought! Thanks Redsie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Provolone, Tomato and Oregano Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 379.6
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    45%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 29.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 657.9 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 17.9 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes