20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I recently joined Weight Watchers and have been looking for delicious, filling, low point recipes and yours hit the mark. I made these as a substitute for hamburgers and they were awesome (I even had my brother-in-law raving about them and he's a meat eater). Excellent recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Crazy Chef July 13, 2003

Someone tagged these in Zaar Tag and I had just bought a package of 8 portabello mushrooms the night before while out grocery shopping, but hadn't decided what to do with them, but then I knew! Since I had 8 portabellos and Rita had mentioned they are very good in pasta salad, I went ahead and doubled the recipe hoping to have some left over for the next day for a pasta salad. I ended up not having enough time to search for a pasta salad recipe, so I created one of my own the next day on the fly, Pasta Salad--Inspired by Rita Pasta Salad--Inspired by Rita. The portabellos were great first time around and were also wonderful on the pasta salad just as Rita had promised they would be! I cooked them on the upper rack of our gas grill while I was cooking steaks and hoagie packs on the lower rack. I couldn't believe how well everything timed out together! Thanks for sharing such a delightful treat Rita!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn June 15, 2003

Just had to add my praise to those already mentioned. These turned out to be fabulous!! I think it was the combo of the vinegar and cheese that did it. No matter what it was they were damn good. Thanks Rita.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo June 12, 2003

Five stars!! Yum!! - However next time I am using more olive oil and less balsamic. I used mine piled with salad and a VERY LIGHT vinaigrette dressing. If they were to be eaten alone, the balsamic would be too much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
westaj02 March 16, 2011

These were very tasty. A little high on the balsamic vinegar side, but not unbearably so.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reciprocity March 12, 2011

Wish I could do a 4 1/2 star. Loved these mushrooms, made as directed only didn't bother with the parm. The balsamic was a little overpowering, even though I really like the flavour - could be the particular one I used which is quite strong - next time I'd scale that back by half, but otherwise this is a really simple and satisfying way to enjoy beautiful portabellas. Thanks Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner September 04, 2010

The balsamic was the predominate flavor in these portabellas. It seemed a little overpowering and didn't let the oher flavors come through as much as we would have liked. If we make these again we'll probably cut the b. vinegar way back. We usually love grilled portabellas, but these just wern't the ones for us. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom March 09, 2010

These are excellent! Served them at a BBQ and even the non-vegetarians raved about them. They disappeared faster than the tri-tip. Thank you Rita.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan September 22, 2008

I used the burger idea. I marinated it in Worchestershire, teryaki sauce, garlic, salt and pepper. It made a great burger! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliechapa December 30, 2007

Yummy! Only marinated for about 30 minutes, the flavours came through really strong. Vegan FIL thought it was pretty spicy, so next time I make it for him, I'll halve the garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jetje November 19, 2007
Grilled Portabella Mushrooms