Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Portabella Mushrooms Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Portabella Mushrooms

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on August 30, 2002

      Oh Boy, Portobellos!! What a feast, who needs steak, these are wonderfull, we did just 4 , under the broiler and had them with a summer veggie salad. The classic combination of garlic, olive oil and balsamic vinegar, can't be beat! and of course the rosemary and thyme just top it off perfectly! Can hardly wait to have'em again, thanks for sharing Mirj!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2003

      I love portabellos and this was heavenly . I grilled them with steak and baby potatoes and the results were mouth watering. This deserves 10 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      DH and I both love mushrooms, but had never experienced Portabellos or even heard of them for that matter. My first encounter of them was this recipe shortly after I came to 'Zaar and I wanted so badly to try them. Recently, the grocery store I shop at began carrying them. Then I had to ask Mirj how I could tell if they were 'good' produce. She very patiently described what they should look like and what to avoid. I watched until one day, I found 'Portabellos' that were 'obviously' very fresh and 'good'! I snagged onto them, came home and printed this recipe. Here it is, winter--much too cold to be outside grilling in Iowa--and I only have a George Foreman copycat grill to fall back on for inside during the winter. I posted more questions for Mirj, which she again did her best to answer. She thought I could probably do them in the 'copycat' grill, so I did. Fortunately for me, I had the grill open almost the entire time they were cooking as I was turning and basting them with the balsamic vinegar/olive oil/seasoning blend, as Mean Chef posted a message after we'd eaten them that the 'copycat' grill needed to be left open, otherwise the mushrooms would get soggy...whew...that was close... ;-) Well, after this experience DH and I certainly plan to have these again. We had them for a quick and light lunch, served on the side with hotdogs, of all things! The recipe says 6 servings, but I guess we're gluttons 'cause the two of us scarffed them all down! Thank you for answering all of my questions Mirj and for sharing another winning recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      We often have a stuffed Portobello with Sunday Brunch and this one is a winner Don't change a thing it is great as is Thanks Mirj

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Very easy to do and absolutely delish! I made these (reduced portion to 2 mushrooms), together with your Oven-Dried Tomatoes and my Strawberry Cheese Open-face Sandwich (but used blueberry jam and shredded Chedder instead) . Cheese, tomatoes and mushrooms with garlic, herbs and vinegar. I'm in heaven now. Check out the photo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      Wow, these were great! I made them with fresh herbs, and cooked them under the broiler. I served them on sandwiches with fresh bread, pesto (#49909), baby romaine lettuce, and sliced tomato. Simply fantastic - everyone raved about them. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      Simple, and very good. I used a very high quaity basalmic vinegarette which lent a sweet-ish flavor to the mushroom and I minced my garlic instead. The only sure thing I would add is to marinate the mushroom for about 10 to 20 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      I had always heard about Portobellos, but being the only 'shroomie' in the family, couldn't justify the cost. They went on sale and I went looking for a way to cook them...boy, did I find the right recipe! I love the blend of rosemary, thyme, garlic, and olive oil anyway, and it reached new heights in this recipe. These were soooo good, and I am now a confirmed P'bello fan. If only they'd go on sale again...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      My 11 year old loves grilled portobello mushrooms after sampling them at our favorite Italian restaurant. These were not quite as good, but he had two helpings none the less. We'll be making them again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2003

      I love these grilled mushrooms. I like these with just a tossed salad and crusty bread. Hubby likes them as a side to his steak. We make these often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2003

      Just ate two of these babies for lunch! Left off the rosemary but otherwise made this recipe as written. I ate each shroom on a toasted onion bun half with mayo, a slice of vidalia onion and tomato. Heavenly! I will make this again. Todah Mirjam, for another winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      Thanx Mirj! I love portobellos, and these were wonderful. Made them in the broiler (it was pouring out). Served them on whole wheat/sesame buns, along with a tossed green salad, rice with peas and onions, and white wine (LOL).....great dinner! Can't wait to try them on the grill (if it ever stops raining).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2003

      These were fabulous!! They needed no extras at all. I made a bit more of the oil and vinegar mixture and soaked the buns with it and it just took this over the top. Excellent recipe. thanks Mirjam

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

    • on May 25, 2013

      These portabella mushrooms were so good with the herbal oil. I didn't have fresh herbs but it was still great with dried herbs. Great with the balsamic vinegar. It was easy to do on the bbq. Thanks Mirj :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

    • on December 20, 2010

      Not so sure that they are very steak-like, but they are definitely very nice! These will be a staple for the barbie season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Hard to mess these up! The marinade was nice, easy and delicious addition to already yummy mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Overall, tasty mushrooms and served as a burger with cheese. Agree that flavor could be a little stronger so will adjust next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Quick and easy to make. It had a good flavor, I just wish it was a little stronger. Next time I might marinate my portabella caps a little while before grilling. Thanks for a quick and easy week night dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Portabella Mushrooms

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 86.9
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    73%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites