8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks for the great potato salad recipe. I think from now on I'll always grill my onions before adding them to potato salads. That really gave it a special touch. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Bellinda* August 04, 2009

This was a really good potato salad but DH & I like a few more goodies than just onions, celery & potatoes. So next time, I'll probably add more celery, cukes, & hard boiled egg. Yes there will be a next time. Really like the flavor of the grilled onion. Enjoyed this with bean salad & a lovely thick loin lamb chop. Great meal. Thanks for a great recipe Kim, the only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is the lack of extra goodies. Made this for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie #6 May 21, 2009

Loved the caramelized onion! Delicious-don't change a thing! In fact, DH had seconds which is unusual. The ratio of dressing to potato is spot on. I subbed in red wine vinegar b/c I did not have cider vinegar and used a red onion-- caramelizing it on top of stove at medium for about 15 minutes. A wonderful make ahead for a hot day! Thanks Kim127 for a keeper. Made for PRMR game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal April 19, 2009

Very nice indeed. I only had a small amount of celery left and so I chopped some yellow bell pepper and added that to the onions while they grilled.... great taste and easy to make. I used slightly less milk but for the rest followed the recipe exactly. Please see my rating system: 4 stars for an easy and tasty recipe that I will be making again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 06, 2008

Grilling the onions (I used Spanish sweet) REALLY brings out a super sweetness in them! It wonderfully changes the whole flavor of the potato salad. Thanx for sharing this recipe. I'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 12, 2007

Wow, no more buying potato salad dressing for me, this is the best ever!!!! I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding some finely diced gherkins (DS loves these in the pototo salad) and I also cut the pototoes before boiling them, which worked well and took less time cooking. What a difference the onion makes and as for the dressing........ fantastic!!!!! This is the only potato salad recipe I will use from now on.....Thanks Kim127 for another tasty and easy recipe for the family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme November 17, 2007

Roasting the onion made this AMAZING. I used reduced fat mayo and skim milk to fit in with our WW points and it turned out beautifully. We also like the skin on our potatoes, so I chopped them skin on then boiled them. I also tossed in some chives from the garden. This is a favorite. We will make it again. Reviewed for ZWTIII

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshK June 03, 2007

This was very nice! I roasted the onion in the oven, and the flavor made this salad! I thought the dressing might be too wet, but it was perfect. Thank you for a slightly different, yet lovely potato salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 15, 2005
Grilled Onion Potato Salad