8 Reviews

While a good recipe, I don't think I'll ever make it again. I didn't particularly love the grits (I may just not be a grits person.) but the pork chops were actually pretty great. So if you love grits, this is probably a great recipe for you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoraIleneV August 01, 2015

Quite possibly this is where the Deep South meets the Wild West. Go ahead and take a bite. Your fork is waiting...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 16, 2015

Yummy sauce. Love it on the pork and will be good on many other meats. I made half a recipe but less cheese and pan fried the pork as it is below zero here. Will measure my cheese next time, I just eyeballed it and don't think I put the entire amount in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound January 29, 2014

This was delish! My only change was that I used sliced gouda (because I forgot to specify that I needed a chunk at the deli counter). I used a little less than a half a pound and it was still very cheesy and smokey. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MellieButterfly September 30, 2010

This is awesome! The combination sounds weird, but it goes together extremely well. I don't like grits, but I enjoyed these. Thanks for the great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady October 24, 2007

This will be a bit of a strange rating - I only made the chops not the smoked Gouda grits . I bet they are really tasty and add even more to this recipe. However I loved the chope and served them with left over scalloped potatoes and veggies. Be careful that they don't burn when you cook them (I pan fried mine). I hope that I don't disappoint you with this review but I did want to say how great they are even without the grits

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy September 18, 2007

The combination of spicy and sweet compliments the smokey flavor of the grits. I used boneless pork loin chops and cooked them out on the grill. When preparing the grits, I eliminated the butter and used a touch more cheese. DH and I both really enjoyed this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 14, 2006

I'm recording Dh's review of 5 stars. This was way too rich for me, but I figured that before I ever made it. He loved it and settled back in his chair with a contented "I'm stuffed" when finished.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 20, 2006
Grilled Maple Chipotle Pork Chops on Smoked Gouda Grits