17 Reviews

My family loved this! I think I might divide the sauce and use half to marinade chicken and the other half to pour over as a stir fry! Very good sauce and versatile!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef rmshill February 18, 2010

GREAT combination of ingredients, TRUE! LOVE is low carb AND PEANUT BUTTER TOO!!! Recently had massive crave for this! DO NOT, repeat..do NOT give this recipe a miss! Here's a helpful hint by me, TRUE! Grilled it on George Forman grill and used oil spary EACH time too! Used chicken tenderloins cut in half, worked for me! This IS a TERRIFIC recipe! NOTE: Used tamari to cut down the salt

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder August 17, 2008

Wow, I made this for my family last night with the intent of having some left over for work today - but none of the chicken made it off of the kitchen table. Very delicious recipe with the combination of peanut butter and curry. I did use low sodium soy and only half of the lime, but the chicken was so tender!!! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TemeculaSteve January 29, 2014

I bought the thin sliced chicken breasts and just cut them in half lengthwise. Then I threaded them onto a skewer and grilled that way. I am not a big chicken satay fan but the rest of the family loves it so I made it for them and they all said they would want me to make it again. I think I will try adding the hot sauce next time to give it some heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PsychoCasseroleStepmom February 11, 2011

Love this satay, the only thing missing is a dipping sauce. Next time I'll keep some of the marinade aside and use it as a sauce. Made for ZWT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan July 01, 2010

Everyone really liked this! I marinated about 6 breasts cut into cubes in a bowl for 24 hours. I tossed it occasionally. Before I forget, I used about 1-2 tbsp. of curry. I skewered these with onions and peppers and DH grilled them. We had them with white rice. My son's friend loved this too. All the kids had just chicken but DH and I loved the additional veggies on the skewers. I didn't notice the peanut butter and the kids tried to guess the "secret" ingredient but couldn't. It reminded me of an Indian dish rather than a Thai dish. Thanks for a great recipe Leslie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala June 24, 2009

this was really good. Thanks for a great dinner. I will be putting this in my keeper file. Made for Let's Get Skewered Tag Game -- May 2008 cheers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonya01 May 26, 2008

Followed this quick to prepare recipe as is opting out on the hot pepper sauce (optional ingredient) and got delicious, tender and moist satays. With the texture of the sauce, you wouldn't think it's low carb. Thanks, Leslie! Made and reviewed for the Asian's Skewer tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma May 10, 2008

Delicious! These satay chicken skewers were so moist, tender and tasty. I used a regular soy sauce as it was the only one I could find to be gluten-free suitable, otherwise I kept to the recipe. I marinated my chicken for a full 24 hours. Perfect!-my whole family loved them. I'll have to say that the marinating chicken didn't look too great and I was skeptical. Skewered and cooked-Fantastic!!. Made for *Aussie/NZ recipe swap April '08*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** April 02, 2008

Mmmm. This was great! Loved the rich flavors (nothing was overpowering in my opinion), and the chicken was super moist and tender. I only had 1/4 cup of lime juice, so I used 1/4 cup of apple juice to make up for the rest, and we grilled our skewers on our griddle pan, which worked wonderfully. I served this with rice and roasted asparagus. It was a deliciously light, healthy, and satisfying meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniel'sWife November 29, 2007
Grilled Low Carb Chicken Satay