26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks Tebo!! This was excellent. I used cooking sherry instead of rice wine because that is what I had on hand. I think next time I will try it with the rice wine just for comparison. Very easy and my family really enjoyed this. The wonderful smell had the neighbors coming over to check it out.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' June 17, 2002

Tebo, this was excellent! I had to leave out the sherry and ginger because I didn't have it on hand, but I cannot imagine this getting any better. We cooked on the grill. Thanks for posting this one!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 12, 2002

Tebo ~ this was really great :O) The flavors were excellent ~ that it was going to have t much soy sauce taste but it was nice & mild Didn`t have the sesame oil so I just used the toasted sesame seeds! I saved the marinate sauce for my chicken breast that I will be having in a few days! My BF is the big time swordfish lover & if he could he would give U another 5 stars ! I glad I found you recipe,its a keeper! ~ POKER~

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poker March 30, 2003

I've made this twice now and it's fantastic! Don't be afraid to marinate this overnight. I let it sit for at least 24 hours in the fridge. Thanks for posting a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe April 22, 2009

This was great!While the swordfish was cooking, I used the marinade to "saute" some mixed veges that I had on hand. The aromas were enough to make you hungry. I'll make this one again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Normaone March 21, 2003

This fits my busy life perfectly. So simple, so fast and so delicious. I broiled the steaks in the oven and used Sherry wine. Served mine with steamed rice and steamed mixed vegetables. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan February 16, 2003

Super easy, fast, and delicious. My boyfriend brought home swordfish from the grocery store, and I was a little unsure because I had only cooked with it once before. I'm a beginner cook, so I need things to be simple, and even though the marinade has several ingredients, it's mostly stuff I keep on hand anyway. I had to substitute powdered ginger for fresh/grated, and I threw in some yellow onions instead of scallions. I also used a broiler because I don't have a grill, and it turned out great. Oh, and my boyfriend gave it the thumbs up! I think I'll be making this on a regular basis from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessi4681 March 27, 2013

Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizAnn May 28, 2011

Oh so easy and oh so tasty! This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy July 06, 2009

Made this tonight and both DH and I thought it was fantastic! I will certainly enjoy this again. I thought the marinade was easy to prepare and I marinated my fish for about 7 hours. I followed all directions and ingredients as posted. I unthawed my fish before marinating, so I did not have a problem using the half cup of water as another reviewer indicated. We prepared this on the BBQ. It was so flavorful. I would not change a thing. I'd give it 10 stars if I could. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny April 16, 2009
Grilled Japanese Swordfish