19 Reviews

Great sandwich, I used wholemeal/wholegrain toast bread, Jarlsberg cheese and for the pickles I used fresh cucumber otherwise made as per recipe and thoroughly enjoyed for lunch. made for I Recommend tag game and recommended by lazyme.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat December 24, 2012

these were great, my boyfriend called these "restaurant good" sandwiches. The only change i made was munster cheese instead of swiss because thats what i had on hand. Also served the pickle on the side because they always slip out of my sandwiches for some reason. But definitely don't leave it out! Served with a bowl of tomato soup which was a very nice pairing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adamwa July 07, 2010

I want a 10 stars button for this one! OH MY stars, Peggy!! I'm rating this a 4 napkin sammie (which is a good thing, Good Thing! LOL) Fixed with some deli shredded ham, making a nest for the Swiss and grilled. Otherwise, as your recipe indicated. I did use one of those new thin sandwich breads that are the rage in the U.S. Scarfed it down with some Sour Cream/Onion potato chips. A deeeelight of a sandwich. Made in appreciation for my PAC-Spring 10 Mommy! and for the Sandwich event in Cooking Photos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks April 10, 2010

I was looking for recipes for leftover ham and decided to give it a try. I baked #100594 sandwich bread ,cut 1 smalll onion into rings and fried. Used some thin sliced leftover ham slices..When I finished assembling the sandwich I wrapped it in wax paper then foil and let it set on the warmer for about 10 minutes so the flavors mingled. OMG was this good,now a favorite at our home thank u for this wonderful sandwich recipe...Make the sandwich bread, well worth the time and effort for this sandwich...Garanteed you wont be disappointed...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck April 07, 2010

This is a keeper. The ham with the cheese with the added pickle, tomatoes and onion, very :yummy: I know my husband loved this one too. What a quick sandwich to throw together. I made for PAC 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coffee lover March 31, 2010

Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaQuetia April 18, 2009

Made these and then proceeded to cook them like a panini on my George Foreman grill using thinly sliced Sour Dough bread. This was an excellent sandwich that my girlfriend and I really enjoyed! Mike

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike&Cassie May 09, 2008

First recipe on here that I actually liked and was easy to make! You have found my new pregnancy craving. Sandwich was delish! I prepared 2 for myself, just in case, and one for my aunt, and we loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babygirl2208 February 22, 2008

This sandwich has everything going for it. Wonderful ingredients, easy-to-make and deliciously messy. I must like it -- I have made one three days in a row, each time using a croissant. I used dijon mustard and colby cheese. Thanks Peggy, I feel like one of your favourite customers! Made and devoured -- repeatedly -- for Pick a Chef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy September 27, 2007

Made for ZWT III Zingo. Very good sandwich. Had a really good flavor. A little messy, but well worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 July 04, 2007
Grilled Ham and Swiss Sandwich With Grilled Onions on Toast