Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Ham and Swiss Sandwich With Grilled Onions on Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Ham and Swiss Sandwich With Grilled Onions on Toast

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2012

      Great sandwich, I used wholemeal/wholegrain toast bread, Jarlsberg cheese and for the pickles I used fresh cucumber otherwise made as per recipe and thoroughly enjoyed for lunch. made for I Recommend tag game and recommended by lazyme.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      these were great, my boyfriend called these "restaurant good" sandwiches. The only change i made was munster cheese instead of swiss because thats what i had on hand. Also served the pickle on the side because they always slip out of my sandwiches for some reason. But definitely don't leave it out! Served with a bowl of tomato soup which was a very nice pairing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      I want a 10 stars button for this one! OH MY stars, Peggy!! I'm rating this a 4 napkin sammie (which is a good thing, Good Thing! LOL) Fixed with some deli shredded ham, making a nest for the Swiss and grilled. Otherwise, as your recipe indicated. I did use one of those new thin sandwich breads that are the rage in the U.S. Scarfed it down with some Sour Cream/Onion potato chips. A deeeelight of a sandwich. Made in appreciation for my PAC-Spring 10 Mommy! and for the Sandwich event in Cooking Photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      I was looking for recipes for leftover ham and decided to give it a try. I baked #100594 sandwich bread ,cut 1 smalll onion into rings and fried. Used some thin sliced leftover ham slices..When I finished assembling the sandwich I wrapped it in wax paper then foil and let it set on the warmer for about 10 minutes so the flavors mingled. OMG was this good,now a favorite at our home thank u for this wonderful sandwich recipe...Make the sandwich bread, well worth the time and effort for this sandwich...Garanteed you wont be disappointed...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      This is a keeper. The ham with the cheese with the added pickle, tomatoes and onion, very :yummy: I know my husband loved this one too. What a quick sandwich to throw together. I made for PAC 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Made these and then proceeded to cook them like a panini on my George Foreman grill using thinly sliced Sour Dough bread. This was an excellent sandwich that my girlfriend and I really enjoyed! Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      First recipe on here that I actually liked and was easy to make! You have found my new pregnancy craving. Sandwich was delish! I prepared 2 for myself, just in case, and one for my aunt, and we loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      This sandwich has everything going for it. Wonderful ingredients, easy-to-make and deliciously messy. I must like it -- I have made one three days in a row, each time using a croissant. I used dijon mustard and colby cheese. Thanks Peggy, I feel like one of your favourite customers! Made and devoured -- repeatedly -- for Pick a Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      Made for ZWT III Zingo. Very good sandwich. Had a really good flavor. A little messy, but well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      For us I chose to use our george forman grill. For a change I used left over cresants we had on hand. Thanks to your recipe I have found another use for our grill. We totally loved this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      Made it panini style. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      I made this for lunch yesterday.i used a sweet onion.I prepared it without heating the meat and I dooked it on my Griddler.Came out really good..I made it for Zingo WT3.Thanks for posting. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Oh, this made a delicious lunch today. I loved everything about it - the swiss cheese, the pickles, the mayo, the onions - just everything. It really is a great sandwich with all of my favorite things. Made for ZWT3 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Wow - these are excellent! Forgot the mayo & mustard - there were so many other flavors they weren't really needed. To simplify the prep - after I fried the onions I assembled the ham, onion, cheese in the bread and toasted in the fry pan with the left over oil. Then I quickly inserted the pickle, tomato & lettuce. Very yummy! This passed the test of four 11 year olds & a 16 year old - well liked by all. Mom enjoyed them too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      I made these for lunch today - with cereal and grain bread, honey roast ham and gruyere cheese! We loved the combination of the onions with the ham and cheese. I did not have any lettuce or tomatoes - but we did add the mayonnaise, mustard and a large dill pickle sliced very thinly. A fabulous sandwich which we WILL try again with all the salad ingredients. Made for ZWT3 and enjoyed enough to make in the future - thanks Peggy! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I was ready for a quick meal tonight, and these just hit the spot! Along with a nice salad, dinner was ready in no time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      Perfect little sandwich recipe here. Quick and easy to put togther and the flavors all went together great. One photo I submitted was DH's sandwich - mine is the other one without tomato :) Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      We loved these sandwiches. The addition of the grilled onions takes this grilled ham and swiss sandwich to a wonderful new level. I only had 2 slices of ham and 2 slices of turkey so we tried them both ways. Although we preferred the ham version, the turkey was good too. DH has already asked when we are going to have these again. Thanks A Good Thing for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Ham and Swiss Sandwich With Grilled Onions on Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.9
     
    Calories from Fat 205
    51%
    Total Fat 22.8 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 57.5 mg
    19%
    Sodium 818.4 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites