13 Reviews

This sandwich is amazing. DS is a huge fan of Canadian bacon pineapple pizza, so I knew he would love this combo. I was right, he devoured two and wanted a third!!! Since he didn't get his third, he has asked if we can have these again soon. Thank you for sharing this out of the box grilled cheese sandwich. I never would have came up with it on my own.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 30, 2013

Nummy! My husband was skeptical at first, then demanded that I go back to recipezaar and review it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greengirl512 January 11, 2009

Very interesting combination of flavors! Was looking for quick ways to use the abundance of basil I have. Didn't have swiss cheese, so I substituted smokey provolone. Will be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mailbelle December 09, 2007

Oh, boy, this is wonderful! Made a great quick lunch. Sweet pineapple with salty ham and swiss makes a great combination but fresh basil really makes the sandwich. Thanks for sharing the recipe! I'll make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 31, 2007

Really nice combination of flavors!Rather than frying in a skillet I made them in a sandwich press.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J August 01, 2007

This made an lovely lunch for me today. Really enjoyed the basil flavour. For the Aussie/Kiwi's out there I used my jaffle maker (electric toasted sandwich maker). Thanks for posting Paula.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies January 30, 2007

Simply delish! To solve the previous reviewers problem, I tried grilling the pinapple slices first, then putting them in the sandwhich and grilling that. Worked fab with my George Foreman grill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Apios December 01, 2006

Very good sandwich! The basil just adds another flavour dimension. The frying method really made the bread taste yummy & crispy. What I didn't like about this sandwich was that even after grilling it, it wasn't hot & the cheese wasn't completely melted. I'm wondering if bringing the ingredients (especially the pineapple) to room temperature first would solve that problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb October 02, 2006

I loved the addition of the pineapple to the grilled cheese sandwich. It added a unique sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
looneytunesfan August 18, 2006

I have been making 'Toast Hawaii', as we call it, for years, but would have never thought to add fresh basil. What a great addition it is though. The flavours go really well together and it's a great lunch time treat or even a simple dinner. I used cheddar instead of the swiss cheese and buttered the outside of the bread rather than melting butter in a pan. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sylvie- August 16, 2006
Grilled Ham and Cheese Sandwich With Pineapple