14 Reviews

This was so easy! I set the dough outside to rise, so instead of taking it back inside to roll, I just patted them out and they came out fluffy and delicious. Will be making more next time, four disappeared pretty darn quick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brendaeallen June 26, 2012

I love this recipe! I really like making these in to pizzas they are super easy I mix in garlic powder and some generic pizza seasoning. This week I took this recipe out camping and cooked it on a grill over an open fire and pizza in the woods is definitely a crowd pleaser!!

I have plans to try out a bunch of other mix-ins like olive tapinade, tzatziki seasoning, garlic and cheese, or even some curry powder, I have even contemplated cinnamon and sugar. You could probably even make empanada style creations if the filling was already cooked and only needed a little bit of heating. The possibilities are endless.

One word of wisdom, I would definitely roll them out pretty thin otherwise to get the soft pretzel doughiness that another reviewer mentioned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drdexter May 05, 2012

I made this last night for dinner and it was really tasty. The bread turned out light, fluffy, and a little crunchy which was exactly what I was looking for. Next time I make it, I plan to try using it as pizza crust. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glimmy14 December 01, 2010

This is the most amazing ever. I mix all kinds of spices in with mine depending on what we are eating. Garlic or herbs. I also put some nice coarse salt on top before grilling. My family eats this stuff ALL the time!! We had it 5 days in a row. One night we also made a grilled pizza out of it with cilantro pesto. Honestly, one of my go to recipes. I make this every chance I get. I had it tonight and made extra for sandwiches tomorrow... can't wait.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nutrition Nut April 22, 2010

Easy and best flatbread recipe to use of the dying coals of a grill. I have made this recipe every time we have the grill going now. Like one reviewer, I agree the charred parts are part of the charm, but too much is not good. Be sure to roll them thin enough so there is no chance of any raw spots. These freeze well after cooking, too. Just pop them in the toaster to reheat after thawing. I spread them with a little organic cream cheese and sprinkled with chives for a fast and unique starter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeggieVal October 12, 2009

Excellent recipe rsarahl! Thank you so much for sharing! I read the reviews, and decided to tweak this just a bit. Made as is, but when it came to grilling, I drizzled olive oil on it and then added some freshly ground italian herbs and grilled it on my counter top grill. PERFECTION! Thank you so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcfossett July 20, 2009

HI Rsarahl: I saw a chef on Food Network do this, so I came onto Zaar to find a recipe. Yours came up. Pretty good--but bread was uncooked on inside and burned on outside. How far from the grill should the bread be from the grill so that it has time to cook thru before burning. I note from the pictures that some burn seems to be normal. I actually liked the burned parts, just not the raw. I will try this again as overall they seemed to have great potential. Thanks Judy in WA

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
godbreathed01 July 19, 2009

This is my old Martha Stewart recipe for grilled flatbread and I am so happy to have found it here. My husband and I absolutely love this stuff, but beware that it is bland and most folks either love it or hate it. Served it up for a holiday and they all said they'd rather have store bought rolls!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride April 23, 2008

These were incredibly simple with great results. I've made them twice now, once to try, which we sampled with dips, jelly, etc..and then with left over roasted lamb and cucumber sauce for Gyros. Excellent! My next plan is pizza ! Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancygirl April 15, 2008

Very easy to make! My family loved it. After grilling, I brushed them with melted salted butter, awesome! We served them as a side for BBQ chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joseph November 14, 2007
Grilled Flatbread