Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Flat Iron Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Flat Iron Steak

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2011

      Fast, easy AND delicious! Great for a Sunday dinner when everyone is hungry and you want something nice...fast. Could possibly substitute Italian salad dressing for the oil and salad seasoning. Will definitely make this more often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      Fabulous steak! We were pleasantly surprised with how tender this steak came out. We've never tried flat iron before, but you can call us fans now! Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      Outstanding, but the need to leave steaks outside of fridge before cooking is one of those myths that have been thoroughly destroyed by J. Kenji Lopez-Alt at the Food Lab:<br/><br/>http://www.seriouseats.com/2013/06/the-food-lab-7-old-wives-tales-about-cooking-steak.html?ref=obinsite

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      I grilled this today and marinated it over night. It was a great hit! I made a fajita with it and everyone else had it with a baked potato. I grilled it to medium well. It was so good. The flat iron steak was perfect better than a thicker steak and it was also on sale. I will make it again when we have company over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Absolutely wonderful! I marinated the steak 8 hours. So tender and juicy! The marinade does not overpower the steak, it's perfect. This is a keeper recipe, I have just become a fan of the Flat Iron cut, and I am very picky about my steak. I was raised in Nebraska where I had the best corn fed beef ever. This rivals it.. YUM!!! (but yes, do not overcook the steak, it can turn tough pretty fast)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      Great flavor! I was a little hesitant about grilling a flat-iron steak, but this was delicious. Took a little longer on the grill than I thought, but it turned out great. Highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      It's official--I am in love with flat iron steaks! I hope they don't go the way of flank steak and become priced out of my reach. This marinade is divine! It was perfect for the steak. Absolutely delicious, and no negatives whatsoever. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      The flavors of this steak is so good. I only omitted the salt. Great marinade. Thanks BakinBaby :) Made for Holiday tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      We loved it. It was the first time that we had purchased flat iron steaks, Friends had raved about them the I was not impressed at the look of them in the store. Times being what they are, we could not pass up the sale price at $3.99 lbs. So we bought just 1 lb. Now we are regretting it. We had the left overs for breakfast with eggs. Just wonderul - both taste and oh so tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      We all really enjoyed this dish. I have struggled with making great steak at home, but no more. I marinated all day, and only used about 1/2 the italian seasoning stated. Good flavor and consistency. Recommended cook time was just about right for a perfect medium rare. I hope to make this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      I tried this a while back and forgot to rate it. It's wonderful. I love balsamic and it really went nicely with the flat iron steak. I let marinate for the day and loved it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      Wow! I have always loved flat iron steak but, this is now my favorite recipe! I marinated my steaks for 2 1/2 hours and then forgot to let them sit at room temperature for an hour. They were pretty thick so took longer to cook them than normal but, that was not an issue as corn on the cob was on the grill, too. Also served with basil/pesto/asagio flatbread heated on the grill. What an awesome super easy dinner that was loved by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Excellent flavors going on here. I used a small Flank Steak and it turned out great. I decreased the grilling time a little and I had a rare steak to serve. Very tender for Flank Steak. thanks for sharing. Made for your win in the Summer Spectacular. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      I'm not sure what a flat iron steak is, so I looked it up online....but I found ribeyes cheaper than the chuck steaks, so I bought those. The only thing I would change is to decrease the amount of italian seasoning...just not something I normally look for in my steaks on the grill. I love, love, love steak on the grill...pretty much anything on the grill, so this is a hit for me! This is a simple, great tasting marinade. Made for Zaar 123 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      There is nothing not to like about this recipe.It's more than simple,utilises everyday ingredients,and it tastes just great!! You can ask for nothing more!! Thanks Bakinbaby for another great steak meal!! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Perfect marinade for perfect steak. Nothing was overpowering and everything blended together fabulously. Tonight was the first time I had steak and didn't need to drown it in ketchup or steak sauce. Thanks for posting...I'm sure I'll use this a lot in the summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Yummy steak!!! I had to sub a flank steak, as my store had the flat iron steaks on the weekend, but when I went to get one this week they didn't have any of them. I have found that I just love balsalmic vinegar with marinades for chicken and beef, and this didn't disappoint. The only other thing I did differently was to use Montreal Steak seasoning for the salt and pepper. Thanks for sharing BakinBaby!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Flat Iron Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 257.7
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    68%
    Total Fat 19.7 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 61.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 71.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 17.8 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites