Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Feta and Tomato Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Feta and Tomato Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 18, 2006

      Delicious! We made it into more of a veggie sandwich by added some sauteed zucchini and sliced onion, and dipped it in balsamic vinegar (or could also drizzle it over the tomatoes). We also didn't have alot of the feta cheese, so we crumbled it over the tomato and loved the taste blend. Didn't have crusty bread, so we grilled both sides of two hot dog buns (soft potato bread type buns local to PA Dutch Country where we live), and the end result was reminiscent of Isaac's pretzel bread sandwiches--yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      This was the best sandwich I've had in a long time. I used 3.5oz feta for 1 sandwich, which I found to be perfect. I will be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Yumm, so easy, tastes like a $12 sandwich at a bistro. Goes well in a george foreman grill or pannini grill also! I crumbled feta which takes a little longer to melt but is just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      I added some spinach to this and used mayo instead of olive oil on the inside of the sandwiches. The verdict? Best. Sandwich. Ever! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This is sooo yummy! I make it for myself on the go a few times every week. I'm addicted. So easy and so flavorful! I use crumbled feta instead of the block...I liked it better that way for some reason. Thanks for the amazing and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      I had BLTs on the menu the other day and soon realized we were out of mayonnaise and I didn't have time to make any. In response, I added black pepper bacon strips to these sandwiches and fresh basil, too! Pan grilled the sandwiches on French bread and served with chilled potato salad and fresh local berries! Thanks for posting! cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      WOW! We loved this Evelyn. Such flavor, this is my new favorite sandwich. I didnt have crusty bread, I used Ezekiel and I was out of oregano so I used dried rosemary (put rosemary in coffee ginder to make a fine powder) sprinkled it all over tomatoes, cheese and in the olive oil that was spread on the bread. FLAVORS WERE SUPER! Thank you very much, a recipe for life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Proves that simplicity is king. As I lack a grill I used a griddle and ciabatta bread, unfortunately it was too thick to really heat up the filling. Still delicious cold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      What a lovely simple lunch, I did mine in my sandwich press and used infused olive oil spray to moisten the bread. Was lovely with the oregano but I think I may use basil next time. Thanks EV!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Awesome! Who knew such a short list of ingredients could make such an amazing sandwich? I used rye bread (it's all we had) and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Just before serving, I thought the sandwiches looked a bit drier than we prefer, so I splashed a little Greek vinaigrette on them. Delicious! My husband didn't even notice this was meat-free. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      This is a very good sandwich! I used panini bread and grilled it on my George Foreman Grill. The sandwich turned out nice and crunchy. I forgot the oregano, golly gee, I'm going to have to make this again tomorrow!! :-) evelyn, thank you for sharing this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2006

      This sandwich is wonderful! I used lite bread, added sauteed zucchini and substituted gorgonzola cheese. I have eaten this for lunch 3 days in a row now and can't get enough of it! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      Very tasty sandwhich! I have to tell you though; the first time i made it i accidentally used butter instead of oil to "grease" the frying pan with. That gave the sandwhich a strange flavor. So be sure to use oil as directions state. I also had used low fat feta and i think that made the consistency difficult to melt. I re-made it the RIGHT way, and it was superb. Very tasty and this is something i will be adding to my lunch menu. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      These were fabulous! I changed the recipe a bit, using mayo instead of olive oil and adding some basil as well. We made them with Italian bread. I have feta and tomato left, so we will definately be making more tomorrow! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2005

      Very flavorful using my panini press. I coated the outside of bread with a little mayo before grilling and was sorry I only made one as I found myself licking fingers afterwards.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      Had this for a yummy lunch. Used a wholegrain bread and it was easy to make using my sandwich press. maybe will try with some ham in next time!! Thanks for a keeper:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      I must be a Greek Goddess to be enjoying this Greek style grilled sandwich! Which is just out of this world (or at least out of America)putting me on an Greek Isle! I used 1/4 pound of herbed feta,1 orange tomato,2 slices of bread, fresh home grown oregano. This is a very filling delish sandwich! Thanks for bringing me to Athens!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Feta and Tomato Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (368 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 947.6
     
    Calories from Fat 497
    52%
    Total Fat 55.2 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 22.4 g
    112%
    Cholesterol 107.1 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2006.0 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.9 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 33.1 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes