Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Falafel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Falafel

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 16, 2008

      I cook for a vegetarian cafe, and so make falafel frequently. This is very tasty, very tender, and the fact that it isn't fried makes me very happy. Usually I bake my falafels, and I could bake these too, but the grilling is a nice method, gives it a bit of a different flavor boost. I left out the cilantro, some of my customers don't care for it, and increased the parsley. I served these with a tzatziki sauce, and some fresh lemon juice, along with the required lettuce and tomato. The patties freeze and keep well. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      yum! i wasn't exact with the measurements -- i just kinda eyeballed it and added a little extra garlic and cilantro (i'm a garlic fiend!) and it was fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      This recipe did not disappoint. I'm not sure why I even tried it considering I've never liked it all that much when I've eaten it out. I'm so glad I tried your recipe, because not only did I like it, but my VERY skeptical DH really liked and said he would absolutely eat it again. I added a1/4 t. of cumin, a couple shakes of hot sauce, and a little extra lemon. We couldn't taste the cilantro, which really surprised me, considering how much the recipe called for. Thanks for posting this great recipe, I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Wow! I loved this, and I'm pretty picky about my falafel, having eaten lots of the "real" thing when I lived in Israel. I was skeptical about the rice, but I didn't notice it at all when it was cooked. Even my husband gave it the "you can make this again" evaluation, which is high praise from him. Like another reviewer, I also omitted the cilantro and doubled the parsley. I also added some cardomom. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      I've never had falafel before, but if it is always this good, I'll be having it more often. The flavor was fresh and wonerful. My DH ate a full serving (2 halves) I ate one. Will make this again, but maybe serve it on a wheat wrap instead of a pita so it won't fall apart so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      The flavor is outstanding in these, and the spiciness was just right for us. I was really careful in flipping them, but they did fall apart a little bit. They might be easier to flip if you make smaller patties than the 3 inches. I followed another reviewer and squeezed lemon over them and served with yogurt. Those were nice additions. I thought the serving size was accurate. An enjoyable meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      this was great! I thought it would fall apart during cooking, but it surprisingly held together very well! I enjoyed this a lot and my meat loving Dad said it wasn't too bad either. will make in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      We LOVED this! My husband is usually the one who eats falafel. I don't usually like it but this was better than all of the others I've had. This had tons of flavor and was softer than fried ones. I did use 2 slices of crumbled whole wheat bread in it and coated it with dried bread crumbs. I used precooked Trader Joes brown rice. I used 1 bunch each of the cilantro and parsley. I used my immersion blender. I used the broiler option to cook them. All in all this was pretty simple to make and healthy and full of flavor. It was a tad hot from the cayenne. I found that nonfat plain yogurt was good with it and squeezed lemon juice made the flavors pop. Also 1 was enough in a pita as they were large so I would say it's 8 servings which makes it even less calories! Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Falafel

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.9
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    13%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 801.8 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.2 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes