9 Reviews

I cook for a vegetarian cafe, and so make falafel frequently. This is very tasty, very tender, and the fact that it isn't fried makes me very happy. Usually I bake my falafels, and I could bake these too, but the grilling is a nice method, gives it a bit of a different flavor boost. I left out the cilantro, some of my customers don't care for it, and increased the parsley. I served these with a tzatziki sauce, and some fresh lemon juice, along with the required lettuce and tomato. The patties freeze and keep well. thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Edlear July 16, 2008

yum! i wasn't exact with the measurements -- i just kinda eyeballed it and added a little extra garlic and cilantro (i'm a garlic fiend!) and it was fantastic.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Odd Job February 16, 2009

Falafel can be a bit hit and miss with me. Sometimes I can't remember if I like it, then I try a recipe and don't, sometimes I try one and do - this recipe was delicious! Lovely, rich flavours and I loved the crunchy breadcrumbs on the outside. Easy to make and a nice alternative to a meat packed dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog March 12, 2015

This recipe did not disappoint. I'm not sure why I even tried it considering I've never liked it all that much when I've eaten it out. I'm so glad I tried your recipe, because not only did I like it, but my VERY skeptical DH really liked and said he would absolutely eat it again. I added a1/4 t. of cumin, a couple shakes of hot sauce, and a little extra lemon. We couldn't taste the cilantro, which really surprised me, considering how much the recipe called for. Thanks for posting this great recipe, I'll be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview May 01, 2013

Wow! I loved this, and I'm pretty picky about my falafel, having eaten lots of the "real" thing when I lived in Israel. I was skeptical about the rice, but I didn't notice it at all when it was cooked. Even my husband gave it the "you can make this again" evaluation, which is high praise from him. Like another reviewer, I also omitted the cilantro and doubled the parsley. I also added some cardomom. I will definitely be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CongoGirl August 16, 2008

I've never had falafel before, but if it is always this good, I'll be having it more often. The flavor was fresh and wonerful. My DH ate a full serving (2 halves) I ate one. Will make this again, but maybe serve it on a wheat wrap instead of a pita so it won't fall apart so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally May 27, 2008

The flavor is outstanding in these, and the spiciness was just right for us. I was really careful in flipping them, but they did fall apart a little bit. They might be easier to flip if you make smaller patties than the 3 inches. I followed another reviewer and squeezed lemon over them and served with yogurt. Those were nice additions. I thought the serving size was accurate. An enjoyable meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito May 19, 2008

this was great! I thought it would fall apart during cooking, but it surprisingly held together very well! I enjoyed this a lot and my meat loving Dad said it wasn't too bad either. will make in the future!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 June 17, 2007

We LOVED this! My husband is usually the one who eats falafel. I don't usually like it but this was better than all of the others I've had. This had tons of flavor and was softer than fried ones. I did use 2 slices of crumbled whole wheat bread in it and coated it with dried bread crumbs. I used precooked Trader Joes brown rice. I used 1 bunch each of the cilantro and parsley. I used my immersion blender. I used the broiler option to cook them. All in all this was pretty simple to make and healthy and full of flavor. It was a tad hot from the cayenne. I found that nonfat plain yogurt was good with it and squeezed lemon juice made the flavors pop. Also 1 was enough in a pita as they were large so I would say it's 8 servings which makes it even less calories! Thank you for this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed March 16, 2007
Grilled Falafel