13 Reviews

Seriously yummy! The peanut butter sauce makes the eggplant killer, as does the grilling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole September 15, 2015

I roasted my eggplant...just cut into cubes and baked them about 15 min at 375 which was easy. For the sauce, i cut back on the red pepper and then added extra soy milk and some sweet potato puree to sneak in some more veggies and it was completely undetectable!!!!! it actually mellowed all the flavors to perfection. i would have given this 5 stars for the sauce but i didnt care for it atop eggplant (which is one of my favorites). I think I would prefer it atop broccoli and carrots and snap pras. For his meal, I plated the eggplant over some rice and drizzled the peanut sauce on top. We also ended up using the leftover sauce as a dipper for our vegetable egg rolls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 23, 2013

Excellent sauce! A great combination of sweet and spicy. I substituted lichi juice for the water and didn't need any sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andreafortunoff May 21, 2013

For an Arabic tasting dish, cut the eggplant in cubes. Toss the eggplant with some cubed lamb and cook over medium heat until eggplant is very soft. Serve over rice cooked with chicken broth and top with plain yogurt. SO GOOD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alabughosh July 03, 2010

To Chef #477472 - the sodium is miscalculated. I recalculated the entire recipe, and came out with about 541 g sodium per serving. And low sodium soy will lower that even further.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeanmarieok June 10, 2010

Qith two eggplants in the frige that need cooking, I jumped at this recipe ... until I read the nutrition facts! SODIUM 5803 MG, dv 241%! THAT DID IT FOR ME. I cannot serve it to my partner ...with borderline high blood pressure! We cannot even use "lower" salt soy sauce. I am disappointed, but I'll find something else to do with the eggpants. :>)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandn29 June 08, 2010

Eggplant slices were pan grilled and brushed with peanut sauce. Although we've had similar tasting sauces used for chicken and or noodle, this was first time with eggplant and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The sauce and eggplant makes for wonderful and delicious side dish for Asian meal complete with steamed white rice. Thank you for posting this DiB's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori January 15, 2009

This was fantastic! My two DD's that usually ALWAYS complain when I fix eggplant ate this with no complaint and said that the peanut sauce made the eggplant taste good. Thanks! I will be making this again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam December 22, 2008

this was very good. the sauce was outstanding!! we put it on chicken and eggplant, and the chicken was better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newmama June 24, 2008

Delish! I brought this to make at a bbq and it was enjoyed by the veggies and meat eaters alike. Thanks for posting. This recipe makes a ton!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker June 23, 2008
Grilled Eggplant with Spicy Peanut Sauce