38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Personally, I loved this steak but the rest of my family found it to be too spicy. I halved the black pepper, but still it had too much bite for them. I think our black pepper is stronger than most, with an almost powdered texture, so that may have been part of the problem. Served with three-onion soup, sauteed mushrooms, and loaded baked potato.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Near January 10, 2010

This is a wonderful recipe. Very easy to make. My daughter and I found it mildly spicy, however my wife and son, who have no tolerance for spicy heat, found it way to spicy. I used dark brown sugar for the rub. The butter added a wonderful flavor. We served it with Sweet Patato Chips, baked in the oven, fresh corn off the cob and gluten free bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
King Jay II October 04, 2009

This was excellent I a dash of dijon mustard and it was yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nygalcooking September 27, 2009

YUMMO! This dish is very tasty and the butter sauce is wonderful! We have a Friday night ritual at our house of steak, french fries & a movie. This will definetely be added as a Friday night favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ICookUCookWeCook September 02, 2009

My family loved it. They only want me to make steak like this from now on. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsilysa August 04, 2009

WOW! We all loved these, especially DH! I used 1/8 cup of black pepper as suggested and our steaks were perfectly spicy. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anbfraz July 06, 2009

Super steak recipe and the butter is the crowning glory. Have used this butter recipe before but with grilled salmon - very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 June 23, 2009

OK, you are my new best friend. This was spectacular. Made exactly as written - except - put the butter in a small dish and chilled rather than messing with the log thing. Turned out perfectly, would not change one thing. Will make forever and ever. Did I say I liked it? Even the DH gave five stars and he NEVER gives five. You rock, Karen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 June 18, 2009

I loved the taste of the spice mix, but maybe next time I will reduce the black pepper to half like someone already did since it was a tad bit too spicy for me. Overall, its EASY, FAST, and YUMMY. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lamars Mommy February 21, 2009
Grilled Crusted Steak With Lemon Butter