9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a nice surprise. I was looking for something different for lunch, and to use some cream cheese. Wouldn't ya know, this fit the bill. I used pear slices, with a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar, and it was scrumptious. I had enough leftover date spread to make one sandwich too, and though I had made date/cr cheese sandwiches before, grilling them took them to an incredible new level. The pear was wonderful; just slightly warmed and softened by the heat, but not mushy, and the cream cheese was so good softened by the heat. I made it on my homemade bread (#277723), and I thought the complex flavors enhanced this recipe, and the substance should make an otherwise light sandwich last until dinner. Thanks for a great idea!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise September 10, 2008

We loved this sandwich. I fixed it for lunch today for me and my two kids. I used some chopped chives in mine and used about 3 tsp of strawberry preserves in theres. Really Really yummy. It was so easy and quick to fix too. Thanks so much for sharing. I made for the I recommend tag game. June 2010

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 June 23, 2010

This was very tasty! I used light cream cheese and added chives and bacon. Yum yum! Like another reviewer, I spread the cheese on both pieces of bread so it held the extras better. Thanks for sharing :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 May 19, 2010

Made as a *pressie* for the Dec Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap, this easy-fix & tasty sammie is my idea of comfort food & boy was it ever welcome on this snowy dy in Iceland. I used leek + bacon & split the cream cheese so it was on both slices of bread & held the bacon & leek in place. This is a very versatile recipe, I can see it working well for almost every meal + it is ingredient, budget & kid-friendly too. Thx for sharing it w/us. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis December 17, 2008

Make mine grilled cheese and vodka gimlet, please?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng June 14, 2011

Mmmmm perfect for dinner! I had cream cheese that already had chives in it, added bacon and a sprinkle of brown sugar. Yum Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candace Michelle 2 February 03, 2011

What a great idea for a sandwich! I used bacon as the extra in mine and spread a little cream cheese on both pieces of bread as other reviewers have suggested. The possibilities on this one are endless....apples and cinnamon, strawberry or peach jelly, hot pepper jelly or candied jalapenos....the list could go on and on! Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2010 Event (recommended by flower7)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 02, 2011

I made this sandwich tonight, and boy was it delish! The preserves I used to make this sandwich was, seedless raspberry, and I used at least a tablespoon. I look forward to making this sandwich again, but next time I might try adding some cooked bacon, along with the cream cheese. Cindy, thank you for posting this yummy tasting sandwich recipe, it's definitely a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess January 14, 2010

Easy and delicious! I saw a similar recipe in one of the cooking mysteries I read and couldn't wait to try it! I will definitely try it with some of the additions next time too. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 10, 2009
Grilled Cream Cheese Sandwich