8 Reviews

I loved the marinade and the sauce. The chipotles added the perfect amount of smoky heat to the grilled shrimp. I only needed about halve the amount of the sauce and didn't have the cilantro for the marinade but we absolutely loved them and I am adding this to my favorites cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules127 March 25, 2008

Just a wonderful recipe!!!!! I put them on the type of grate you use for grilling fish, rather than on skewers. Worked out fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RAZDAZ September 19, 2006

This was so tasty & easy! I will definitely be making these again and again. I followed this recipe exactly except I didn't thread the shrimp onto skewer - just threw them on a grill pan. Both the sauce and the marinade had a nice kick to it, but it wasn't too spicy. The combo of heat, sweet & acidity was perfectly balanced. I served this with Ceasar salad as a light dinner. Thanks for sharing this one!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkysMama December 20, 2005

One we'll make again and again. Took this to a Thanksgiving get-together..it was a big hit! The recipe is adaptable..I marinated it twice as long, added more chipotles, adobo and lime to both the marinade and sauce. Plus, the shrimp I had stashed in my freezer were a bit too small to put on skewers, so I quickly stir fried them in a very hot skillet. The sauce, as another reviewer noted, is on the sweet side, but certainly good. Adding less catsup and more of the other ingredients helped bring it more to our taste. This is a dish I'll be making forever...Thank you for posting such a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugargrrl November 29, 2004

This was awesome!!! And so easy to make. I found and saved the recipe a couple of months ago, but never made it until today. Brought the platter to work and got nothing but rave reviews! Everyone wanted the recipe. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simp515 August 18, 2004

I made this dish for a group of guests I had never cooked for, and the were so impressed. I had these as an appy, and they were gone in no time. This makes an impressive dish for such little prep. The marinade and the sauce are wonderful. I'll definately be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty July 06, 2004

Terrific recipe! Thank you for suggesting this! Unfortunately, it looked like rain, so we didn't grill these; instead I broiled the shrimp on skewers in the oven for about 3-4 minutes per side (probably too long, but I get paranoid about raw shrimp). Anyway, the sauce and the marinade were amazing, especially the marinade. I will make this again! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock June 14, 2004

Wow, this is my new shrimp cocktail! This is just delicious. I served this as a light dinner with cheesy garlic bread that I also threw on the grill and the whole family devoured it. There is a perfect amount of heat without being too "hot"...you get that slow burn at the back of your throat. Perfect! DH loved the sauce, but we also found it a bit sweet. I might tinker with tomato sauce, but that is certainly not a complaint against the recipe. We will definitely make this again, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! May 30, 2004
Grilled Chipotle Shrimp Cocktail