32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy marinade for grilled chicken! Easy to make too. It wasn't as spicy as I thought it might be; next time I'll probably add a little more chipotle. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof September 26, 2010

I made this recipe with chicken thighs and froze it for OAMC. I cooked it in the crockpot and it turned out full of flavor. My husband said it was the best chicken he has ever had. This will be one of our regulars now!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemommy April 10, 2012

Oh my! This is some good chicken. We have it at least once a week now that it's grilling weather. Wonderful flavors, and the chicken stays so juicy! We usually have it with grilled corn on the cob and a salad. It also works great with boneless pork chops, but I love the chicken breasts. From one Mamma to another, I thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TennesseeMamma June 04, 2011

I am sooo happy with this marinate... (btw.. its also very good with shrimp...).. Making it again tonight with chicken thighs.. I dont change a thing.. its perfect as written!! just a suggestion on what to serve with this.. tonight this is my dinner.. grilled chipotle lime thighs grilled corn on the cob with burn butter and lime black beans (canned). that have been fixed up. sauteed onion, garlic, cumin, oregano, little bacon fat. simmer it down.. serve over rice.. this chipotle recipe rocks... you gotta try it!!!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MIDWESTGUY July 08, 2010

Gooood flavor. I made these today and only added some salt and pepper. Winged the amounts of e/thing but the end result was really good. I boiled and used the marinade as a dip and added more honey to it (I added it in step 2, too). You should try this recipe, it won't disappoint :) The husband thought it would be good to try on wings... so that's next weekend.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
n_carson February 16, 2010

I didn't read carefully and added honey with the rest of the ingredients. I think it's much easier and the flavor was great so I'll probably continue doing so. I had the chicken marinading for several hours. The flavors were amazing. I didn't use the BBQ grill but I'm sure it would be dynamite. However, just cooking in a pan is great too. It has a bit of smokey taste from the chipotle so you get a bit of grilled taste. I had left-over marinade so I used it to marinade tilapia fillets. (I think the marinade is better the next day.) Tilapias came out great. Pair with cilantro lime rice and you got yourself an easy and fantastic meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lostsister January 06, 2009

We love lime, so this marinade was very good. I used it for OMAC with boneless chicken thighs. I did add 1 T honey to the mix to cut the tartness a bit...and a good pinch of salt and pepper. I do follow Mamma's suggestion about the freezing tip...but when I want a quick dinner, I thaw the chicken thighs in a sink with lukewarm water (this takes about 20 - 30 minutes) After they are thawed enough, I put them back in the fridge or use right away. I would do this one again. Thanks for a super easy recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl December 13, 2008

Delicious! We loved the sweet, spicy flavor the marinade gave the chicken. I only used 3 boneless chicken breasts, but made the full amount of the marinade. We like spicy, so I took the advice of some previous reviewers and increased the chiles to 3, the adobo sauce to 2 tsp. and the garlic to 3 cloves. I also added some salt, black pepper, and Tex-Mex seasoning to the marinade. I left the chicken in the marinade for 2 hours. The chicken was juicy and delicious. My family loved it and gave it 2-thumbs up. Thank you for sharing. *Made for 2008 Football Pool*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill November 30, 2008

This was not bad but not fantastic either. I used 3 chipotle and 1 teaspoon of adobo, but yet the flavor was not nearly intense enough for my taste. The concept of the recipe is fantastic, but lets say my taste buds were humming instead of singing. I will do this again, but will definitely increase chipotle, adobo sauce, garlic and will add salt to the marinade as well. Thanks a lot though, it's a great base.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmetronik June 28, 2007

We thought this was fabulous. It's quick and easy to prepare and has great flavor. A perfect summer weeknight dinner. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood May 30, 2014
Grilled Chipotle Lime Chicken Breasts - or Thighs