16 Reviews

I made this glaze but left out the rum. It's amazing. It tastes just like the one I get at Chili's put on my grilled chicken salad (as a dressing) only it's not as spicy as theirs. I like more spice but my husband can't take it so I toned it down just a tad. It still has a good kick to it though. It's wonderful. Try it .. You'll like it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkennedy.ar January 18, 2014

I'm going to add a hefeweizen beer and a whole habenero to the recipe. Sounds delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brewmex41 April 20, 2013

I used a whole habanero, about the size of a small plum. My daughter & I thought it had just the right amount of spice . . . my son (who loves hot food) thought it wasn't spicy at all. This glaze would be good on pork chops.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agileangus June 13, 2011

Loved it! I don't like the flavor of habanero peppers so I used half of a large jalapeƱo from our garden, next time I will use a whole one or more than one there was no spiciness at all, I wanted to play it safe since our young kids were eating it too. I guess all that sugar cancels it out maybe? Either way spicy or not we still really enjoyed the recipe and hope to make again! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m July 19, 2010

This was OUTSTANDING! I took a page from a couple of other reviewers, and seasoned my chicken breasts with kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper, garlic sea salt, and a sprinkling of jerk seasoning. They were then grilled. I took part of the mango sauce and put it through a fine sieve, and DH brushed the glaze over at the end of grilling. We topped with the remaining sauce before eating! I only used 1/2 habanero, which was nice heat to follow the sweet! We enjoyed this with a ginger beer. This was terrific, and I can't wait to make it for my friends! Thanks, PanNan, for sharing. Made for ZWT 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl June 03, 2009

I wish I had read the reviews for this recipe in regards to seasoning the chicken before grilling. I was expecting a fiery hot glaze but we didn't taste any heat at all. It was pretty sweet; not too sweet, but didn't have the kick we were looking forward to. I used fresh ginger & Malibu Coconut flavored Rum & the suggested half habanero. We'll make this again but season the chicken more & use the whole pepper. Thanks for a super easy & quick weeknight meal, Nan! :) Made for ZWT 5 - Ali Baba's Babes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** May 30, 2009

I loved this and DH liked it, however I made ours sweet by using red and yellow bell peppers chopped into small chunks in replacement of habanero peppers. We dont like fiery hot and I didnt have any hot peppers on hand. I used a little less raw cane sugar for the sugar and I used fresh minced ginger and molasses thinned with pineapple juice as a substitute for dark rum as we dont do any alcohol. I did the chicken breasts with salt and freshly ground black pepper in a 375F oven until I saw juices when pricked with a fork. Then right before serving I browned them in my cast iron frying pan and spooned the whole lot of sweet sauce/glaze on top. It was delicious and I could see this being good with shrimps or fish too. I served this with Coconut Rice and a fresh green salad for a good tasty Caribbean meal. I would love to make this again. Made for ZWT5 for Cooks With Dirty Faces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 28, 2009

Excellent! I made some up and used it as wing sauce. I deep fried chicken wings and tossed it in the mango habenero and the result, YUMMY YUMMY! I also tossed fried chicken wings in the sauce and then threw them on the grill for a little. The end result, YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY! Give it a try! I loved how the flavor goes from sweet to hot. I even added extra habenero! Extra spicy is how I like it! Give it a try, you won't regret it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jxc316 July 21, 2008

This is an awesome recipe and I paired it with the "Dreaming of the Islands Rice" also available on this website. It was delicious. I left out the rum because I didn't want to have to leave to get it. and It still tasted awesome. I also didn't have any habaneros so I used a jalapeno and it tasted good. My toddlers even ate it with the Jalapeno's in it. But they are ok with spicy food as nothing can ever be too spicy in this house.. It's a great recipe and very adaptable to any tastes. I also used more Orange juice than was listed. I used 2 tangerines.. Oh it's phenomenal... I also sprinkled with french grey sea salt as a garnish! Awesome!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dior.Junkie May 28, 2008
Grilled Chicken With Mango Habanero Glaze