Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Cheese, Diner Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Cheese, Diner Style

    Average Rating:

    256 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 256

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2007

      Awesome. This is the only way I make grilled cheese sandwiches anymore. I used Hellman's Light Mayo and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      VERY IMPRESSIVE! Thanks for sharing a great tip, this is the only way we will make our grilled sandwiches from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      Believe it or not this is how my dh makes grilled cheese. I use to hate mayo, thanks to my 2 year old, when I was pg with her I craved the stuff. I remember telling my dh I was hugnry for something not to filling, and he made me this! At that time it was to die for! Til this day he still makes it for me! This is the best darn grill cheese u will ever have!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      I cant waite to try this we all love grilled cheese and never thought of useing anything but butter never in a millian years would we have thought to use mayonaise thanks for the tip ill let you know how it turned out for us thanks penny in ohio

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      I loved the way the bread browned up, but really missed the taste of butter/margarine. The mayo didn't really add anything re taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      I can't say I noticed the taste of the mayo, but I liked how the sandwich felt less greasy from lack of butter. I agree mayo toasts the bread better, also. Good idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Believe it or not, this is my first attempt making a grilled cheese. The end result was excellent. I used sweet batard bread from ACME breads and goat gouda cheese from Whole Foods, with Best Foods mayo. Will make this again soon. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      I think there is a slight difference in the taste. The best thing, however, about using mayo is the appealing color and crispiness of the bread. Also, I use two slices of American cheese for extra cheesiness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      This is really good, just did not taste the difference between the two. very good. the mayo cooks faster than the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      Really nice taste, definitly not your normal grilled cheese sandwich, however mine went a bit wrong, I think it is because I used wheat-free bread (due to allergys). So I would recomend using white to give the full affect, it's also great with ketchup Miss Pixie x x x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      I tried it and it's absolutely delicious!! Who knew that was the secret ingredient that diners use to make their grilled cheese sandwiches so good!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      I have been wanting to try this recipe for some time now and Im so glad I did. I used Hellmans Mayo and it really is outstanding and the taste is really yummy! I will make my grilled cheese sandwiches like this from now on,yumm! Thanks for posting a keeper Dawnab....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      My husband made grilled cheese for us and I remebered reading this recipe so I asked him to put mayo on mine. He actually put Miracle Whip on it, which you have noted not to do. It did not turn out that great. I am going to try it again with mayo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      Absolutely wonderful! I don't make grilled cheese any other way now. It gives it a light, fresh taste that is really great. Thank you so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      YUM-O!! Who would have thunk it? I used muenster cheese on mine - melts better and practically oozes out of the sandwich! AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      Very good idea to use mayo. DELICIOUS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      Another fan here. These are great. I took jilkat25 advise and microwaved for 30 seconds before I cooked to ensure the cheese was melted. Added tomato to Daves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      Never heard of using mayo before was curious. It was great. Glad you put the tip in there about not using Miracle Whip, normally I would have used that. Thanx for a new idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      Who woulda thunk it? I'm never going back to butter. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      My kids thank you for this great recipe! Its now a lunch staple at our house! Tastes great and soo easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Cheese, Diner Style

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.3
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    38%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 497.1 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes