Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Cheese, Diner Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Cheese, Diner Style

    Average Rating:

    256 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 256

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2007

      I would've never thought to replace butter with mayo on grilled cheese, but I'm glad I saw this recipe. It spreads much easier than butter, and it toasts evenly and is crunchier!! My family never knew the difference but once I told them they said for me to make it again! Thanx Dawnab.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      Yum!! Mayonnaise on the outside really gives it a fabulous flavour. As Shelly said, spreading the mayo is just so much easier and you don't get bits of bread breaking off. I added some chopped jalapenos and finely chopped coriander leaves. No more buttery toasted sandwiches for me. Thanks Dawnab!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      I made this for lunch one day and my DS thought I was crazy for putting the mayo on the outside...lol. But when he tasted it he loved it. We will do this again as it made a very beautifully golden sandwich that tasted just as good as it looked....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      Ok when I read this recipe I had to try it...and I did!! WOW for me this is the only way to eat a grilled cheese!!! Thanks for the recipe. Chefsteveo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I might not have ever tried this but my DH came home for lunch and requested a grilled tuna sandwich. I was out of butter so I used mayo since I remembered reading it in this recipe. He said the flavor was actually better than butter! I now use this method for all of my grilled sandwiches. Thanks for sharing! HK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      WOW mayonaisse is definitely the key to an awesome grilled cheese sandwich!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      No other way to make grilled sandwiches...Even Panninis. Mayo is so much easier to work with than butter and I like the taste better. I freaked out my kids and hubby when I did this, but now they won't let me make them any other way. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      It was amiss of me to forget to review this recipe after having used this one countless times. I cannot thank you enough for revealing the secret to grilled cheese sandwiches. We love it, and there was not sticking whatsoever. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      Fabulous grilled cheese sandwiches. Love using the mayo instead of butter. Have made them several times I got the recipe someplace else. Thank you for posting it on Zaar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      These were the worse sandwiches I've ever tried. No one mentioned how the bread sticks to a (non-stick) fryer making it impossible to turn sandwich without it pulling apart. We threw our soggy torn up sandwiches out and I will never try this one again. I'll stick to the buttered version. Sorry it just didn't work for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      OH MY! The entire family LOVED my "new" grilled cheese. The second time I made them I followed the advise of a previous reviewer and put them in the microwave to get the cheese started. The results were even more fantabulous! The most amazingly yummy grilled cheese! I highly suggest adding some thinly sliced ham or turkey but great however you choose!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Excellent. Mayo, who knew? I adapted this recipe, slightly, to handle some pretty thick slab pieces of homemade oatmeal bread. A bit of extra mayo and 4 slices of American Cheese produced a gigundo sandwich big enough for two people. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      This turns out very nicely and does look like a commercial sandwich. I've had teenage boys eat these by the dozens. One warning: don't use reduced fat mayo! It looked very peculiar this time around; save the low fat mayo for salads! I sometimes also add a slice of deli ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      So yummy! I made this on whole wheat bread, and used some Australian cheddar that I had. Although it doesn't melt as well as American, it was still very nice and reminded me of being a kid (when I would use any cheese in sight!). Thanks for the great idea Dawn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      yum! I definitely liked using the mayo. I usually put 2 slices of low-fat cheese so that it's extra creamy, and then I make some Amy's Organic tomato soup and dip it in that. One of my favorite meals :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      The only way I will be making grilled cheese from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      I could not believe how well this works. It is wonderful to be able to make grilled cheese without having to wait for butter to soften. I usually use some American cheese and some grated or shredded other cheese, and quite often I throw on a slice of good deli ham. Makes it a bit heartier. This mayo trick would have saved me a lot of aggravation over the years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      I've adopted this as my new way to make grilled cheese sandwiches. :-) I served these with soup for dinner and they were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Very good. I guess I am used to making grilled cheese with butter, but I almost burned this one. I think you have to watch it a little closer than with butter. The taste was great--didn't leave behind a mayo taste at all. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      Like this needs another review, but it is worth it! I usually can't even stomach to look at or touch a container of Mayo, but my DS suggested this recipe and we tried it. My DH said it was the best Hot Ham-n-cheese he'd ever had, and I have to agree! FABULOUS tip! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Cheese, Diner Style

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.3
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    38%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 497.1 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites