Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Cheese, Diner Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Cheese, Diner Style

    Average Rating:

    256 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 256

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2013

      This is perfect if you don't have any butter in the house. The mayo is easily spreadable and browns nicely. I still prefer the flavor of butter, but mayo is just as rich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      Who would have thought that such a simple idea would produce the prettiest, golden pieces of grilled cheese? So easy and tastes great! Thanks for sharing this wonderful idea. I've also added bacon and egg for a grilled bacon, egg & cheese sandwich. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Authentic. We made this tonight as a quick supper. We subbed in cheddar cheese because family members prefer it to American. Made as written otherwise. The mayo does a nice job. They do come out diner style. Thanks for posting Dawnab.Enjoy! ChefDLH

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Yum! Not sure what I can say that hasn't already been said, lol. This was great! Simple, fast, true comfort. Thanks Dawnab. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I love cheese and mayo, but would never of thought to place the two together in a grilled sandwich. The mayo made this sooo much tastier. I also put tomato in so it felt like there was something abit healthy in there. Like abby said the only problem was it disappeared way to fast!!! Worth 5 stars all the way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2014

      I have always loved grilled cheese but didn't know how to make it. I used whipped butter because I doubt I could handle the mayo taste as I'm picky. It came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      These sandwiches are good and I agree that the mayonnaise is easier to work with than butter. I missed the butter flavor that grilled cheese usually has. This will be good for my son when I need a quick lunch for him. Thanks for something different tonight Dawnab.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      This is the way Mom made them sixty years ago... I still do using a couple different cheeses sliced thin and some red pepper flakes to taste. Now & then a slice of tomato is added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      I have been making grilled cheese like this for over 40 years, Must use Hellman's

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      To be honest it tastes like grilled cheese with the butter. I could not tell a difference. This is a great idea if you don't have butter in the house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      Never knew you could use mayo. Now I know..for when I run out of butter. Still prefer butter but good to know! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

    • on September 08, 2011

      I like the mayo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      A great grilled cheese sandwich. A great alternative to using bacon grease as I have always done because I dont eat butter or margarine ever in or on anything. I too had to make a special purchase of Mayo (miracle whip fan)but am glad I did. I will be doing it this way from now on, much easier than fooling with the bacon fat. Thanks for turning me on to this Dawnab

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Nice. I don't know if I prefer a butter or mayo grilled cheese. Next time I'll make it with butter and see which is better. It has a bit of an aftertaste (like a slight freezer burn), so it may not be the mayo's fault.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      We are in the minority here. I made mine first and sat down with a bowl of homemade tomato soup made from Heirloom tomatoes from our garden. I took two bites and tossed it. DH was cooking his, one with mayo and one with butter to do a side by side. He didn't like it either but did eat it. We both agreed the sandwiches looked great but we also agreed the mayo changed the flavor of the sandwich. Wish we could have joined along with all the wonderful reviews but we'll stick with butter. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      I was so skeptical of this recipe but had to try it. I actually had to go purchase REAL mayonnaise since we only use fat-free here. OH MY! I made it for myself (I was the guinea pig) and couldn't believe how PERFECT it was (looks and taste). I was afraid you would be able to taste the mayo, but NOPE. My husband, who doesn't like mayo even loved it and has requested it many a times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Well, I see I only put in the stars and didn't write anything here back in 2008. LOL We LOVE these, make them all the time now, the mayo is pure genius! Thanks for posting Dawnab.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      What a great way to make a grilled cheese! Never made it with mayo....always butter and the mayo is much better. My sandwiches turned out nice and golden brown! YUMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      This works perfectly, and no grease to clean up! I will make my grilled cheese this way from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Cheese, Diner Style

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.3
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    38%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 497.1 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites