Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grilled Cheddar and Apple Butter Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Cheddar and Apple Butter Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2011

      This recipe makes an amazing sandwich! I used a whole grain bread and sharp yellow cheddar. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      This was really good! I wasn't entirely sure about it but I love all of the ingredients so I went with it. The apple butter gives a perfect sweetness to the cheese and they blend together very nicely. Thank you for a sweet twist on a standard sandwich! We'll be using this one a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I've been making this for years with a slightly different twist. I place two slices of bread in the pan, add the cheese and then apple sauce to one, let cook and then place the two slices together. This prevents the bread from getting soggy when in direct contact with the apple butter or apple sauce. You can even flip the free slice of bread so that both sides are golden. Its a beautiful thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Delicious! I added very thinly sliced apple to the sandwich. Very, very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      So easy and delicious! Used Crock Pot Apple Butter and spread a thin layer on the one side instead of one dollop. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      I love this. I make it opened face, and I make homemade crockpot apple butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      What a great idea. My 60 year old kid loved it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I love apple butter too! My daughter is currently at age two in love with cheese so I thought I'd give this a go. Glad I did! It was very delicious. I used Musselman's Apple Butter and mild cheddar cheese. I was unable to find Challah bread here in Albuquerque anywhere, so I gave up and bought a white bakery bread loaf which seemed fine. I know I would have liked it better with challah, so now I am going to have to just make my own challah bread! (Might be a challenge at this altitude though! I'm still having a hard time baking at over 5000 ft up. Ha ha!) Next time I make this (and there will be a next time) I will try adding some honey maple turkey too. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      So yummy! I used Alpine Lace reduced fat cheddar cheese and Crock Pot Apple Butter. What a great idea! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      I made this using a good buttermilk country-style bread (didn't have challah), white cheddar and I added bacon to it. I often make grilled cheese in the toaster oven instead of a pan and that is what I did here. I have made grilled cheese with apples before, but I think this was just as good and much easier to just add some apple butter. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      WOW! This was awsome! The only slight difference is that I had to use the braided challah as opposed to the loaf because that's all that my store carried. (At least they sliced it for me :-)) The two flavors of the sharpness and sweetness complimented eachother beautifully. This deserves more stars than I am giving! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      I love this combination. It is absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Great combo of flavors! Glad I tried it!Great with soup to boot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Loved this--warm, soothing, melty cheese sandwich. The combination of ingredients would never have occured to me. Heed the original poster's instructions to toast the sandwich slowly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      Been making this for years with sharp cheddar cheese. I also like it with swiss. If you cant find apple butter (it could happen) try apple jelly. Apples and cheese are (is?) a classic combination and there is good reason for it. Fortunately for me, DH likes his grilled sandwiches on the well done side, so no scraped off bread in my house :-)Great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      Awesome new take on grilled cheese. I used sharp chedder- fresh from my local deli. It was so good! Hard to eat just one of these sandwiches. It was sweet yet the cheese added a nice contrast! I will be making this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      I've been eating this almost every day for lunch since I found the recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2005

      Mmm...warm, sharp, sweet, and toasty all at once. I used pear butter that my aunt made that has some spices in it, and whole wheat bread. Easy to make and satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      WOW! this sandwich is good! You probably dont know this, but I am totally the grilled cheese queen of the world LOL :) I think I have made every kind of grilled cheese.. ok maybe not every kind! ...this is one I have NEVER thoughtof... but ..WOW! it is SO good! My second cousin always makes tons of apple butter and sends it my way because she knows how much I enjoy it. I used her apple butter, along with sharp cheddar (its all i had on hand!) on top of a rustic sweeter bread... The flavor was really nice, and I did everything i could to keep the filling from draining out of my sandwich before I could eat it! haha :) Fabulous and fun sandwich that I will definitely make again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      I`m not 13 month`s old and I enjoyed it as well! American cheese is a mild cheddar. I opted for a sharper cheddar. I enjoyed the burst of flavor from the sweet apple butter and the creaminess from the cheese. Very good! Thanks Julie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Cheddar and Apple Butter Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 548.6
     
    Calories from Fat 279
    50%
    Total Fat 31.0 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 17.9 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 119.7 mg
    39%
    Sodium 746.8 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites