34 Reviews

Splendid! Savory flavor, super easy, crowd pleaser, type of ingredients most keep on hand. I hope everyone tries this recipe. It's a keeper. Thanks for posting.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilynn November 12, 2002

We really enjoy cabbage and tried this a couple of nights ago. It was really great - I baked it in the oven at 425 degrees for 45 minutes. I also opened the packs about half way through cooking time and sprinkled the cabbage with some white vinegar. Closed the packs and finished cooking - absolutely terrific. Thanks for a different, but simple way to do a much maligned veggie!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen35 April 20, 2009

I have made cabbage in a pan stir fried with bacon, but I have also grilled mine, but not with bacon. LOVED IT! Made it in between Xmas and New Years but it was a last minute decision and it was on my list to rate this, sorry for the delay. I actually did mine for a late lunch with some friends. I had made some grilled brats my friends and I just made (homemade) and onions so what a better side dish. It was GREAT! Definitely on my list.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook January 04, 2010

Yummy! Have made often...on grill, and in oven at 400 degrees for 1 hour. I cut into 3 inch chunks, put into individual packets. I add onion slice sometimes. TY for putting here.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quail2 September 21, 2012

Fantastic and I am not really that into cabbage! I used the oven at 400 F and baked longer. I like the burnt edges of roasted vegetables. I did put a light smear of butter on the cabbage wedge before I wrapped the bacon. I tucked some onion slices under the bacon. I sprinkled a little brown sugar on the bacon of my portion for that candied bacon flavor. My BF doesn' like sweet so didn't do his. I'll be passing this one on to my family who loves cabbage.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscain July 01, 2012

This was so good! My kids even ate half a wedge each. I was shocked. I threw it on the grill with the brats, and it was absolutely wonderful to cook the entire meal without heating up the house. My only complaint is that I think my cabbage must have been larger than the OP used. Even after cooking 50 minutes, the inner parts of the wedges were still just a tad to crisp. That's easily remedied, though. Next time, I'll cut the head into 6 wedges instead of 4. I also used turkey bacon this time, and I really don't think it was the best choice. I didn't get that smoky flavor that a lot of the reviews mentioned. I'm going to try it with regular bacon next time. And there will be a next time. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Cook/Hate2Clean:) June 15, 2011

My husband and I really liked these. The teens wouldn't even try:(
We had a really large head of cabbage, so I cut in into six pieces. Probably should have increased the salt, pepper, Parm accordingly - would have been just that much better. Will do again. Had this with grilled brats. Yum. Might be nice with a little horseradish sauce, but totally unnecessary.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 September 04, 2010

Before it's over with I will have my husband not only bbqing all the main courses and side dishes, but also the desserts if I have my way. I was, also, wondering if there's a way to char the dishes clean. Made for Alphabet Soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng October 19, 2009

This is a great way to make cabbage. I served it last night with corned beef. Didn't have any bacon, so I just omitted. Also, I baked for 30 mins. in a 425 oven. Perfect! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbie66 March 18, 2009

Excellent outdoor cooking. It worked out beautifully in 30-35 min. Used dehydrated garlic flakes in place of powder, and skipped the bacon...this time...next time, a different story. This is so easy, good, and practical I don't know why I never thought of it before. Thanks! August 16, 2007: have made this recipe with bacon this time...I'm sorry but I didn't enjoy it as much as without bacon! It became a heavier meal, and the bacon was only half done after 40 min. I'll go back to my original preparation which I enjoy very much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues August 16, 2007
Grilled Cabbage