20 Reviews

Absolutely the best! I followed this exactly. Didn't change one thing. Threw this on the grill in the late afternoon, and by 1 hour later, had din/din on the table. Loved the use of mushrooms, potatoes, garlic and bratwurst! They should all be this lovely to devour! Made for ZWT 6 Zee Zesty! June 3rd 2010

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 03, 2010

DELICIOUS! Omitted mushrooms, since I don't like them. I do like veggies and think I will add more onion, garlic, and maybe a bell pepper too next time. Thought only 2 Tbsp of butter wouldn't be enough liquid/oil for the whole thing but didn't take into account the grease from the brats. I didn't find it too salty from the onion soup mix, but also didn't add any extra salt. Didn't use rice as it seemed like enough food for just my bf and I. I also followed a previous review and baked it in the over (400 for 40 min covered, then uncovered for 15 min) YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amers April 13, 2010

Super Yummy!! I've made this twice now & will be making so many more times. The first time I had so many veggies, I ended up making 2 packets & cooked one in the oven (about 1 hour at 400 degrees, covered). The second time I just dumped everything in a 9X13 pan, mixed it up, covered it with foil & threw it on the grill. 40 minutes was perfect, after 20 minutes I rotated the pan & stirred it. I've put green, red & orange peppers, canned mushrooms, broccoli...it's so versatile, which makes it a perfect summer recipe!! Love it, thank you for sharing this recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Legna June 03, 2014

Wonderful! First tasted this recipe when a friend brought it to a church potluck. Ingredients remain same, but I cooked this in a covered roasting pan: 1 hr. at 400 degrees. Stir gently and bake uncovered for 15 additional minutes. No rice (rice AND potatoes?!) Next time I may add about 1/2 bell pepper cut into thin slices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cweeks65 October 14, 2012

Hubby really liked this. Will definitely make again. Made for ZWT 6 Queens of Quisine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boo Chef in West Texas May 24, 2010

Loved it! I was really impressed with the flavor, especially the mushrooms - delicious! I was worried about it being too salty, so I only used half the onion soup mix and it was perfect for us. I wrapped the dinner in foil but then cooked in the crockpot on low for about 9 hours. Next time I'm going to use twice as many mushrooms...maybe more...they were really good :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup December 08, 2009

This was good, not spectacular. Too much meat. Very easy to make. My kids didn't care for it. I will make this when we go camping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hope9393 March 29, 2009

This one didn't go over so well. Apartment living means no grill so I followed advice on oven cooking. Vegetables were waaay undercooked. Not sure if temp should be lowered with longer cook times or not, but 45 min at 400 didn't work for us. No time to put back into oven so ate it "crispy". Don't think we will try again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mo's mom October 06, 2008

Nimz this was amazing! I used Johnsonville cheese brats and had regular soy sauce on hand so used that. I would prefer the lite as you have in the ingredient list as ours was just a bit on the salty side but still very good. Didnt make the rice but would love to try it without the potatoes and an oriental blend frozen vege. Thanks hon for posting, made and reviewed for the Alphabet Cookbook Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 05, 2008

we liked it! Did it on the stove top, brats in the pan first with some water, added the rest, included some garlic, simmered it up til we were ready and splashed a tiny bit of red wine on top, it was great. Skipped the rice, just dished it out in big stew type bowls. Bread and salad, a home run. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barefoot Beachcomber March 11, 2008
Grilled Bratwurst Supper