23 Reviews

We followed the recipe using the freshest ingredients, and we were so surprised how bland our chicken turned out. I can see why so many other reviews have made suggestions, it's missing something! Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sous Chef Bentley June 15, 2009

I was excited to see this recipe because is incorporated flavors I love. After reading the reviews, I decided to enhance the lemon flavor by adding half the lemon zest/rind to the stuffing for the chicken. This did the trick. I also omitted the ground red pepper due to many reviewers saying it didn't work with the combination of flavors. The rest of the recipe I followed as written. I found that the raw garlic in the stuffing added good flavor, but even finely minced some were still crunchy. This a not good. Next time I make this recipe, I will probably saute the garlic first to ensure no raw garlic crunch. I found the parmesan (yes I used very good parm) was a little underwhelming against the garlic basil and lemon, so next time I would use Asiago. Outside of that, this is a good recipe with a good combination of flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonsbk June 13, 2009

DH and I made this chicken for dinner last night. We followed all ingredients and steps as listed. Our chicken turned out a little on the dry side and was a little bit bland. The advantages of this recipe is that it is easy to prepare and presents nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny September 28, 2008

Made this for my parents last night, exactly to the recipe. The smoky flavor from the grill and the hint of acidity on the outside went great together. I was just looking for something to use up some of this fresh basil... this will be made again, definitely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydogsnameisbob July 18, 2008

This is good! DH and I agreed that we couldn't really taste the lemon, but we appreciated the buttery flavor of the glaze. I was very liberal with the fresh basil and garlic; I only wish I had been more so with the salt and pepper. We accidentally overcooked these--we're still sort of on training wheels with our grill LOL! The flavor was still good, though, and we will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting! Made for Went to Market 2008!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian July 14, 2008

WOW! Hold onto your lips people! This chicken was amazing! I followed the recipe to a tee and it was perfect. We will be making this many more times this summer! Made for Memorial Day Challenge 2008!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York May 27, 2008

Wonderful! We loved the flavour of this recipe - my husband kept gushing about how much flavour it had!! And, the presentation is fabulous! I did use the full amount of stuffing for 2 chicken breasts so it was oozing out when we cut into it - I just made sure that the chicken was held together really well with the toothpicks for grilling. I used the dried basil because that's what I had on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb April 28, 2008

I love basil so this is a perfect recipe for my palate. I used olive oil rather than butter and think the dish didn't suffer for the substitution.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 18, 2008

Came out very moist, but couldn't really taste the lemon or the stuffing (the stuffing wanted to ooze out of the chicken). I might use italian breadcrumbs and then pan fry it next time. thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akram October 11, 2007

Made this tonight- used a garlic herb butter and parmesan/asiago cheese mix. Grilled for 25 min- tasted great- DH really liked it. Served with a ceaser salad

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinker :0) August 22, 2007
Grilled Basil and Garlic Stuffed Chicken