48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This marinade was wonderful. I had not realized I was out of balsamic vinegar, so I used red wine vinegar in its place. Taking the advice of another comment, I added a half dash of liquid smoke to the marinade and let the meat set in it overnight. The next morning, I put everything in the crock pot. The result was simply delicious. What a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane C December 11, 2003

This is a great marinade! I used the London broil cut of meat and thought it was a bit tough, but the marinade made up for that. Next time I'll use a skirt steak or other cut of meat. I think it would make a good marinade for a grilled chicken sandwich too. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elainegl December 05, 2003

This is a quick and tasty marinade. The meat came out tender and flavorful. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather September 08, 2003

Ok, I made this and mine marinated overnight. I used low sodium Kikkoman soy sauce and how wonderful this was. My family loved it and the flavor was great. I sliced it very thin and had enough leftover for my salad the next day. This is definitely a recipe I will be making regularly for my low carb diet!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~jb4~ April 28, 2003

I used all ingredients listed but improvised as follows: black bean sauce 1T., Stubbs ancho chili steak marinade 3T., 1/2 cup tequila. 1/4" deep crosshatch scoring and fork tine tenderize on both sides.Marinate for 24 hrs and grill on high heat for 9-10 minutes per side don't touch it while grilling! It is delicious and I really can't wait to make it again! served with romaine salad and blue cheese dressing, grilled bruscetta drizzled w/olive oil and rubbed w/garlic lightly, salt to taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
continental cook October 08, 2012

This is a nice marinade and I have made this several times and each time it has been a hit. I think you could use this marinade on other cuts of meat so I will be trying that this summer. It is also important not to overcook any london broil - this recipe is much better cooked medium with a bit of pink in the very middle, the meat is much more tender that way. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amelia72 July 09, 2012

We used a london broil...BBQed...awsome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanaBird May 09, 2012

Followed the recipe but used white vinegar and it was still great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YouCantCookTooMuch October 07, 2010

We loved it! 5 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carik1240 March 09, 2010

This recipe is delightful. I add some rosemary to the marinade and then marinate over night. Hubby puts it on the grill for 8-9 minutes on each side. Perfection!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montagnaia November 06, 2009
Grilled Balsamic London Broil