Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greg's Good As Gold Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greg's Good As Gold Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2007

      This is great!! I had 5lbs of hamburger in the freezer waiting for me to make a spaghetti sauce to can.I had about 4 lbs of Italian sausage. I bought a lb of fresh mushrooms because I always add them, I just happened to have all the other ingredients too. Here`s a tip that some might want to try, I use my cuisinart and after browning the meat I put about 2lbs at a time in it and just pulse it barely for three pulses, Its always so time consuming to stand over the frying pan trying to break up the big chunks, I also do this when I add sausage to my dressing.I also do that with the canned tomatoes and of course the onions and mushrooms, it just makes things so much easier and if your canning there`s enough work that goes into it. Your recipe is going into my Favorites and I will definitely make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2004

      You have a hit on your hands with this recipe. I made it as directed but cooked it in my crockpot on low for 8 hours. Served it with side salad and Texas Garlic Toast. Anything with black olives in it my children will love. LOKL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      Ahhhh!! Loved it!! I have been going to this italian place near by and they have this wonderful sauce...i always wondered how to make it!! And voila!! Followed yours and it was beyond good! My boyfriend loved it! thanks so much!! :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Followed the recipe exactly. It was very good! Freezes well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Dearest Greg, You are now my personal hero!!! This is the first meal EVER that both of my sons have eaten EVERYTHING on their plates!!!! I think its safe to say I will be using this recipe again and again. I had to sub the wine with some stock, as we're not wine drinkers, so I didnt have any, plus I put in a small splash of worcestershire sauce. Also I don't think I will bother putting in the salt next time, as it seemed just a tiny bit much for my liking. All in all we all give this 10 stars out of 5. Thanks so much for this one...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      My family and I enjoyed your spaghetti sauce very much. For me, it is essential to have a mixture of ground beef and Italian sausage in the meat sauce. Using my hands, I crushed the whole tomatoes as I added them in and only used the juice of 1 can of the whole tomatoes because I like a thick sauce. The seasonings were just right. This makes a ton and I had plenty of hungry mouths to feed. Thanks for sharing a great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      This was delicious!!! Had my daughter over last night for supper, she was sooo dissapointed when she found out it wasn't "my" spaghetti....until she ate this recipe. She loved it!!! I was skeptical about the amount of tomatoes but it really tastes like authentic italian sauce. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of forgetting the parsely, didn't miss it. Thanks for a real keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Thumbs up around the table. I added extra salt, sugar. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      This is just the best tasting spaghetti sauce I ever tried! This recipe is going in my favorite folder. Thanks for a wonderful recipe Gregory Hehn....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      Amazing! I ended up freezing alot of this into small freezer bags. We pull one out once a week and it's enough to feed 2 adults and one 1.5 year old. I didnt add sausage, because I cant stand it, so I just substituted more beef. It was fantastic again! I loved the smell in my home. My mouth was waterfing the whole time this was simmering lol.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      This is a fabulous sauce! I have never made a sauce before and found it very easy. I did not put the wine in or the crushed red pepper. I fed ten people and they all said the flavor was fantastic. I will be making this sauce from now on. Thanks for such an easy and great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      This has to be the best sauce I've ever tried! I was looking for a new recipe (I grew up on Ragu but my husband is italian) for my family and this is it!!!! I did change a few things though-I omitted the olives and added 3/4 cup red wine, 2 tsp thyme, 2 tsp. sugar, 2 tsp salt, 2 bay leaves and I added 1/2 cup parmesan and it was insane!!!!! This sure is good as gold and thanks for a wonderful recipe that I'll use forever!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      Excellent Spaghetti sauce!! I've made this sauce a couple of times now and every time I make it I'm always amazed at how great it tastes! Some times I'll add some vegatbles to the recipe (carrots, zucini, etc;) so that if I'm too tired to fix a salad I still feel like I'm getting some vegies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      This is truly an awesome spaghetti sauce. I have found only one thing that i changed, 2 8 ounce cans of olives is way too much, also the red peper flakes make it pretty hot. This is a great sauce to make in a slow cooker.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      I used spicy italian sausages, omitted the red pepper flakes cause I knew it would already be spicy enough for my son. I didn't use the black olives. It's not something I'm looking for in a spaghetti sauce. The seasonings were the best. Thanks Gregory :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      I made this to make a pan of lasagna. I reduced the recipe to make a smaller amount so only used mild italian sausage. I also added 1 teaspoons fennel seeds and a chopped bell pepper. The sauce is full bodied, thick, and has good flavor and has the "that's Italian!" flavor I was after. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      I have been playing with this sauce for a while. So far I have had some mixed reviews. Some say it is really good, others don't like it. I have tried changing several things like using garlic powder instead of cloves to try to intensify the garlic flavor. I even omitted the wine once. There doesn't seem to be enough salt in this recipe. Although it is far better then any sauce in a jar, it could be better. I'll try to work on it more and report later. The amount of sauce it produces is good because you can freeze it and it will last a while. Also, it is a good sauce for making lasagna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I was disappointed with this sauce, it was just bland. I left out the sausage but increased the herbs and wine, and still just okay. I will not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

    • on June 07, 2006

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greg's Good As Gold Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (481 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 576.1
     
    Calories from Fat 325
    56%
    Total Fat 36.1 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 70.9 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1810.8 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    36%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 28.6 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites