Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Tortilla Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Tortilla Chili

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2013

      I made this for our PTA's "Soup Day" for our teachers. This was the first to go! I added a can of rinsed black beans and a can of corn for color. I also added more tortilla chips than the recipe called for to thicken it up. I served this with shredded pepper jack cheese, sour cream and tortilla chips. After it was finished cooking, I did put it in the crockpot over night set at warm.....I think this helped thicken it up and give it more of a chili consistency. Delicious!!!!! Besides regular chili, this is the first soup/chili I have ever made from scratch. Very easy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      A great recipe but more like a soup....I'm going to add a can of black beans any maybe some corn . I used some of my homemade tomatillo salsa and some store bought salsa. Great flavors and also planning to try with the extra cheese, and sour cream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      Yum, this is so good. Nice and easy to prepare and so flavorful. I used shredded chicken. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      Very yummy, quick and easy too. Made this for the event, albeit a little late :( I used only a half tablespoon of oil, omitted the beer and used cumin seeds. I also followed other reviewers and topped it with avocado, which paired very well. The salsa in this really makes it. I think a vegetarian version of this soup with black beans would also be great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      Delicious! I used shredded pork instead of chicken and added 2 cans of great northern beans. I didn't have any beer, so I just left it out. I topped it with sour cream and habanero cheese. It was even better the second day! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      YUM! I had about 3/4 of an oven roasted chicken to use, and this is the recipe I tried...so glad I did! I boiled the carcass in water for the broth. I forgot the lime juice at the end, but it was still delicious. DH asked me to try adding pinto or black beans next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      This was REALLY GOOD!! After reading the reviews I decided to add corn and black beans to my chili as well, but left everything else the same. Make sure you've got a BIG pot, we had to transfer, especially after adding the corn and beans. This will most definitely be added to our menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Wow! This is so good! I made a small change, I only had about 1/2 chicken so I added a can of black beans (rinsed) and a can of corn (drained). Followed everything else to the letter. I was worried that the beer was going to be over powering, but after you let it cook, it's perfect. I served it with crushed tortilla chips, shredded cheddar and a dollop of sour cream. Thanks for sharing. I'll make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Fabulous flavor!!! I only used half of the broth because it wasnt "thick" like I consider a chili after half. It was a little more runny like soup. I also omitted the beer, and used canned chicken. We used Hot Mexican Chili Powder, so it made it even more spicy because we like it that way. I only used 1/4 of the limes... it sounds like I really changed the recipe, but I didnt... just suited it to our taste. ;) Thanks so much for a FABULOUS recipe! I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      We loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      This is WONDERFUL! I used Pace's new Salsa Verde and Miller Lite as the beer, and followed the recipe exactly, though I did reduce the lime juice to just one lime. I was really surprised just how much flavor this has for such simple ingredients! DH & I really loved it, and it's already on my menu to make again. YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      I made this soup tonight and we loved it! It had so much flavor and was very hearty. I used a fire roasted tomatillo salsa. I didn't bother to use a food processor at all, I just crumbled the chips quickly with my hands and rough chopped the cilantro. We topped ours with more crushed chips, sour cream, cheese, cilantro & DICED AVOCADO! The avocado is such a nice addition to this! I will make this over and over. So easy and so yummy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      This was amazing! We just loved it! So much flavor, texture and color with all the toppings. We put "hand crushed" tortilla chips, sour cream, cheese and cilantro on top. YUM! My husband is really excited to have a bowl to take for lunch tomorrow. SO GOOD! I forgot to say that we served this with warmed rolled up corn tortillas. It was a match made in heaven! Try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      This was sooo good and easy!!!! I steamed some chicken thighs, and used that water as my broth. I just chopped the cilantro and crushed the tortilla chips with my hands. Worked fine!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      DD was the first to take a bite of the chili tonight and piped quite loudly, "A 10!!!" (: She knew exactly what she was talking about because when I made it to the table and lifted the spoon to my mouth, I knew I found heaven. Such a great chili!!! I was unable to find the tomatillo salsa anywhere here in New Zealand so substituted a precious can of Rotel Tomatoes that Sherrybeth sent me from the states. It was an awesome dinner. Thanks for posting this one, Mommy Diva. We will make this again and again, I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Tortilla Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (464 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 488.1
     
    Calories from Fat 240
    49%
    Total Fat 26.6 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 92.5 mg
    30%
    Sodium 410.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 33.6 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites