Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Tomatoes with Indian Spices Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Tomatoes with Indian Spices

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2013

      I wish I could thank Pets's R'us for her wonderful recipe, but she passed away on 7/14/11, so sad. This recipe is delicious, I love green tomatoes and have trouble finding them commercially in the area where I live, but we visited a friend who had a ginormous vegetable garden full of green tomatoes that he did not want and I went home with at least 5 pounds. The recipe is easy to make and full of wonderful flavors, rich with spices and garlic, yum. A true keeper, whenever I can find some green tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      I love green tomatoes. This was excellent. I used cumin powder instead of cumin seeds the second time I made this cause the seeds burn & are bitter. This was excellent wrapped in rotis (Indian Flat Bread).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      I was less than thrilled with the flavor, though it smelled terrific. I think perhaps the fenugreek seeds were overcooked and bitter, but I do not know what they normally taste like.

      I ended up adding potatoes to make the portions larger and a quarter cup of coconut milk to
      counteract the bitterness. I also used less oil, and cooked the tomatoes longer to soften to about cooked potato texture.
      I will try this one again, but be much more careful with the fenugreek!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      This was very nice, and I'll definitely make it again. I found it to be too bitter when I first tasted it, but adding sugar and cooking the tomatoes down more helped. I reduced the oil to 3 tbsp. and will probably cut back to 2 tbsp. next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      Excellent! I found this recipe solely to use up some of my many green tomatoes, but I'll definitely be making it again. I agree that it's forgiving - I skipped the chili peppers, substituted .5 tspn cayenne for the chili powder, and used extra cumin instead of fenugreek. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Absolutely great! We saved a bunch of green tomatoes that could have ripened just to make this recipe again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      This was really delicious! I served it on top of couscous because I ran out of rice (oops!) and I served a mixture of spicy mint chutney with plain yogurt along side the tomatoes, which was good to offset the little bit of heat. Fantastic use for all the green tomatoes I picked from the garden just before the first frost! Thanks, Pets'R'us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      Wonderful! I served this as part of a vegetarian dinner using the fenugreek seeds, fresh jalapenos from the garden and lemon juice. I can only imagine this on top of saffron rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2005

      Very nice - I had to noodle around with the spices because I didn't have fenugreek seeds, but did have coriander and brown mustard, but it seems like a very forgiving recipe overall, lots of room to improvise. Also, I used a splash of rice vinegar because I had neither mango powder or lemon juice. Because I like sour food, I saw no need to add sugar. Like I say, it's a forgiving recipe, with lots of room to jiggle things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      This was a tasty & different way to use the green tomatoes from our garden at the end of the season. Some items aren't available here - so (as recommended by the recipe poster) I substituted cumin for the fenugreek seeds & 1/4 cup fresh chopped mango for the mango powder. Thanx PetsRus!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Tomatoes with Indian Spices

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.6
     
    Calories from Fat 256
    77%
    Total Fat 28.5 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 57.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mango powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes