Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Tomato Relish (Hot Dog Relish) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Tomato Relish (Hot Dog Relish)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2007

      I have to agree you should use a red pepper, not green. Also, instead of prepared mustard and celery salt, I used mustard seeds and celery seeds. It tastes just like what I bought at Silver Dollary City in Branson, Missouri. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      Most people do not realize that the "pickle" refers to the spices, not the vegetables. Many commercial relishes use cauliflower as one of the main ingrediants. I made 6 times the recipe, and got 13 pint jars. It is wonderful. Do try to add a red pepper for beautiful color. Looks & tastes just like comercial. Used up all those green tomatoes picked just before the frost. Be sure to drain very well, or it will be a little salty. I just dropped the cloves in too, & fished them out while filling the jars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      Just made this..This is so YUMMY!!!!!!!! Gotta run to the store now and buy more red peppers! Going to make another batch! I substituted red peppers for the green ones as well. It is beautiful and oh so tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I picked 6 lbs of cherry tomatoes before the first frost we were supposed to get. I made a batch of this relish, but didn't chop the tomatoes because I figured, eh, they're small to start with. Mistake, as the relish came out soupy and chunky. Next time (and I have another 2 lbs to use up), I'm going to chop them in the food processor, because this is good stuff. I could eat it plain, that's how good it is. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      Had tons of green tomatoes left from our garden, so I made a few pints of these. I didn't have any cloves so I left them out. Really good and easy. Will make some more tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      I cannot believe that I found this recipe, my mother used to make this when I was a kid, when she passed I could never find the recipe. this is the best relish can be used for many dishes. Thank you for posting this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      This is wonderful. Tastes like expensive relish in the store. With a case of late blight hitting my beautiful tomatoes I'm using what I can. I had never had anything made from green tomatoes, and expecected something like green apples....This has great flavor. Had it with homegrown beef....an A plus. I will never let those green tomatoes go to waste again. Favorite new canning recipe in 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Made this with assorted green cherry tomatoes from my garden, chopped in my food processor- Fantastic! Not too sweet, just enough spice and tang

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      I doubled the recipe and left out the peppers. This made a wonderful relish. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      sounds easy, ive made several gr tom relish recipes and this is the easiest one woth fewest ingredients. im sure it will be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      I thought I'd lost your recipe from last year! Became a member several months ago, so now is time to say THANK YOU! Couldn't tell you how many batches I made last year. I had to 'make' my sister and mother taste your relish. Made firm believers out of them real quick, lol; they thought it was going to be mushy. Instead, ultra yummy crispy! Then I told them it was made from green tomatoes. They were impressed. Needless to say, everyone got some for Christmas in their baskets...:) I have 2 pints left now, every jar just as good as the first. Tomatoes are coming on now, so ya know what I will be doing soon...:) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      I love this relish !!! Did not need to change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      wow. this is a great hit with my kids, family and friends. used it for picnic what a hit, great job highly recommend and easy to make..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      This is an excellent relish, whether it is called chow chow or green tomato relish, it is so good I'm making my second batch, my husband loves it. I added a small amount of jalapeno pepper as well as some red pepper for color. The spices and vinegar are perfect from this original recipe. Thank you. Sue H.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

    • on September 04, 2007

      Now this is the chow chow I remember! The jars are sealing as we speak. Taste testing along the way allows me to rate it now. When this is made again, I'll try brown suger or a mix of the two. But other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. This is almost my granny's. Also, this is such a basic recipe you could do anything with it. Thanks for posting! UpDate: 9/4/07. This is my kinda relish/chow chow. I've given some to others that also craved this taste and they love it! The brown sugar batch is good also. My sister wants more, my DH's co-worker brought his jars back cuz he knew he would get some more! Yum Yum! Thanks!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      Great way to use up green tomatoes. I misread and used celery seed rather than celery salt, but I think that was a good mistake to have made as the relish tasted fine. I also just added the cloves along with everything else and removed them later. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      I made this last year, but used dill weed instead of celery salt, bought the wrong ingredient. It came out great. Everyone loves it. Will definately be making it again this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      My sister-in-law and I made this last Saturday and it was very good. We also added the red pepper but no food color...it was pretty. We also doubled the recipe and ended up with 11 half pints.This was our 4th attempt ever at canning and were very pleased with the ease of it all. Thank you. Janita, Baltimore, MD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2003

      Very good! It does, indeed, taste like commercial sweet pickle relish. I didn't bother with tying the cloves in cheesecloth, I just fished them out afterwards. I used a sweet red pepper instead of green to make it look more authentic. It was a very pale green, so I added a few drops of green food coloring. I got 4 half pint jars. Deb Wolf, Huntley, IL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Tomato Relish (Hot Dog Relish)

    Serving Size: 1 (1531 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.4
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    35%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2850.9 mg
    118%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 47.8 g
    191%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites