7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is NOT a jelly it is a JAM. Jam- A sweet spread or preserve made from FRUIT cooked to a mushy consistency and sugar boiled to a thick consistency.
Jelly- A sweet, clear, semisolid, somewhat elastic spread or preserve made from FRUIT JUICE and sugar boiled to a thick consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LVTjessi September 30, 2012

This sounded so strange that I just had to try it and I'm amazed at how easy and great it is! I used Rasberry jello and with the tomato seeds, one would be hard pressed to tell the difference. Thank you for sharing this recipe! The over-ambitious gardener

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deliverone August 09, 2009

Used grape jello and it was nasty! Sorry, I hate to give low ratings. It did jell and I had high hopes but... it wasn't very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom December 13, 2007

Easy to make. Used lime jello. Very pretty green. Tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dsurra September 11, 2007

This sounds like recipe I have been looking for, I lost mine. I used ripe tomatoes and it looked and tasted like strawberry preserves. Going to try this for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fppjames February 08, 2005

I made this using strawberry jello. It makes a fine textured, firm, but spreadable jam. The mixture was an odd reddish brown color due to the combination of the strawberry jello and green tomatoes. I added a few drops of red food coloring to enhance the color. I got 7 half pint jars; which I processed for 5 minutes in a hot water bath. Next time, I may use cranberry jello and add some cloves and/or cinnamon. Deb Wolf, Huntley, IL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Wolf October 07, 2003

Not enough information even for the experienced canner. Just what is jello crystals? Used the non flavored knox gelation. Only got 7 8oz. jelly jars. Do you have to process? How long?? Would like to try this again. [Editor's Note: the recipe was updated as a result of this comment 9/17/2002]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nana02 September 09, 2002
Green Tomato Jelly