Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Tomato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Tomato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2011

      Yummy and there are so many ways to personalize this. I tried it with a mexican cheese mix and I sprinkled Emeril;s southwestern spice mix (google the recipe) on each layer. I have eaten almost half of the casserole myself!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      If you like fried green tomatoes, you will really like this! I made this for a family get together and it was enjoyed by everyone who likes fried green tomatoes. an hour a 400 degrees might be a tiny bit too long, I covered it at 50 minutes because it was getting too brown I don't think I would change anything else. I put the leftovers on a sandwich the next day. YUM

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I had to strip my tomato plants today since we're expecting our first frost tonight, and have lots & lots of green tomatoes. I wanted something easier than frying, and this fit the bill. Quite tasty, and so easy to put together! The only changes I made was to the seasoning-- less pepper, added some onion & garlic powder with some smoked paprika. I also used parmesan/romano blend in one of the cheese layers so I'd have enough cheddar for the top. I love the slight tartness baked with the buttery bread crumbs & cheese. Hubby hasn't tasted it yet, but I like this enough myself to make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      My entire family "hates" fried green tomatoes! I had salvaged several pulled off the vine by deer in my garden. The family loved this recipe and gobbled it all down. THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Yum, yum, yum. Served this for dinner guests last night, even though I don't usually do that on something untested. It made me hope that I have some more green tomatoes out there in my back yard! I skipped the butter and cut the cheese to 3/4 to lower the calories and it turned out great! Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This was a great recipe! I followed the recipe, except for using low-fat cheese. My DH hates fried green tomatoes loved this! I will make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      My first experience eating green tomatoes and I loved it!! It is sooo easy and sooo tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      I loved it. It was simple to make and a great way to use up the last of my green tomatoes. I will use this recipe again. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      So simple, but it turns out quite tasty. I used a little extra butter on the top, but otherwise no changes were made. Thanx for a new delicious way to use green tomatoes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      This is very tasty. I used about half the bread crumbs just to reduce the carbs a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      This is really good! It left me talking out loud "YUM" when I tasted it. I dont think it needs the cheese and next time I will leave it out. The bread crumbs browned up nice and crispy on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      I lowered the fat content in this recipe by using 2% milk cheese and spray butter. I love the idea of baking the green tomatoes!! I also added a small amount of squash, zuchinni, and onions to each layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      So yummy and soooo easy! Great way to use up green tomatoes when you are tired of frying them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      simple and lovely--I blended the spices with the bread crumbs in my food processor as I made them, which made it a touch easier, perhaps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Tomato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.2
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    51%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 37.3 mg
    12%
    Sodium 913.1 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes