Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Tomato Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Tomato Bread

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2014

      We loved this bread ! Since my husband is diabetic I did substitute 1 cup of Splenda for the sugar and it turned out great. Thanks for a unique way to use green tomatoes before the frost hits !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      Amazing bread! Very tasty, perfect mix of ingredients :) Didn't have pecans, but I can't wait to enjoy another loaf with them included. Lovely to be able to put my green tomatoes from this fall to use and brush up on my baking skills! I can't wait to see the perplexed yet delightful looks on my parents' faces when they taste this bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Oh my goodness. I made this last fall when we had an abundance of green tomatoes and this is delicious. I made one batch, and we ate the first loaf within minutes! So I ended up making 3 or 4 more batches (I don't remember) and stuck them in the freezer. So good. I was skeptical but no worries. thank you for sharing something I would have never thought of.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      Two Words...LOVE IT!! I have so many green tomatoes left that I plan to make more and pass them out to friends and family. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      Rating this on behalf of Mom, as I didn't make it. She said it's the best bread she has ever made. She thought the batter was too dry at first, but as it sat it moistened up and was a great consistency. She used half white/ half brown sugar for this. She also said that this actually had an apple-ish taste to it, like if it had been made with Granny Smith apples. Honestly, she made it sound so good I'm looking forward to making it for myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      I forgot to add to my last post that I used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar as that was all I had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      All of a sudden we have a lot of green tomatoes that are going to be ruined by frost. We have picked them and I am going to make this bread, freeze it and give as gifts. We love the flavor and it is wonderful for a snack or for breakfast instead of the "usual". It is quick and easy to make, which is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This is a nice way to use up a few green tomatoes, but you'd never know they'r'e there. The bread is rich and sweet but not overly so. I replaced 1/2 cup of the oil with homemade applesauce, which I think must have had a lot less moisture than regular applesauce, because the batter was very hard to stir for awhile. Next time I'll cut my tomatoes up and add that juice when I add the oil and applesauce, because once that happened it was easy to stir again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      I made this in muffin cups for my son's school class - they were yummy. Slight variations: I used 1 c. white sugar and 1 c. brown, half cup canola oil and half cup applesauce, substituted chopped fresh cranberries for the pecans. They tasted like great spice muffins with little tangy bits all through them. We'll definitely be doing this again next fall!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      yummy!!! I couldn't be more happy with the results!!!! The only change I made was using half a cup of oil and half a cup of applesauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      I was very hesitant about this recipe at first, but with 10lbs of green tomatoes wasting away on the vine, I didn't have much to lose. As some of the other reviews recommended, I substituted 1/2 of the oil for apple sauce. Also, instead of using pecans, I used dried cranberries and blueberries. It turned out great! Definately a recipe I'll use for years to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Recipe was easy and turned out delicious. Very good toasted. I did change the sugar to 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar also used 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup canola oil. I will definitely make this again. Great way to use up all those green tomatoes before the first frost.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      This was pretty good and it sure didn't taste like tomato! I changed the recipe a bit to make it a tad easier on the diet - 1 cup of applesauce and 1T of oil, lighter on the pecans, 1.5 cups of sugar, and half the flour I used was whole wheat. I baked them about 16 minutes in mini muffin cups. With these changes it came out to 2 WW points per muffin. Tasted good but I probably won't make them again since I couldn't leave them alone and ate 4!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Fantastic, my 3 year old loved it. Used 1/2 cup less sugar and 1/2 applesauce for oil and turned out LOVELY!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      easy and delicious. Keeps well in the fridge for a few weeks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      We love this bread. I have tons of green tomatoes left, but most are cherry tomato size and so can't be used to make fried greens. I have made this twice. I used 3/4 cup of olive oil both times. I also used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. On the second batch I used mostly splenda and regular brown sugar. I used almonds on one batch, and 1/2 walnuts 1/2 dried fruit on the second. This is a really good moist spice bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      We have over 3 giant bags of green tomatos and I wasn't sure what to do with them ... when I found this recipe. OMG so glad I did!! Great bread. I forgot the vanilla so I sprinkled it with a vanilla sugar prior to baking. I did take the advice of another reviewer and split the sugar to half brown and half white and cut the oil to 3/4 cup. I didn't have pecans so I used walnuts. I will make this great moist flavorful bread again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      Very tasty, the kids loved it! I'll be making alot more of this and freezing it since I've still got a ton of green tomatoes to use up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      Great bread, I was quite shocked how oily the batter was, but it came out fine. The batter was quite thick so be aware of this. To make it 'pretty' I sprinkled mine with sparkling sugar (prior to baking) from King Arthur flour, I wouldn't recommend that! Upon cutting that beautiful sugary layer fell off..(please don't tell my family that they ate bread w/tomatoes this a.m.) our secret! Thank You Recipe Fairy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      I love finding new recipes with unique ingredients. Everyone in my family loved the bread and had no idea what was in it. When I told them they were shock but wanted the recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Tomato Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1641 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3113.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1573
    50%
    Total Fat 174.8 g
    268%
    Saturated Fat 21.0 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 1938.1 mg
    80%
    Total Carbohydrate 367.4 g
    122%
    Dietary Fiber 16.9 g
    67%
    Sugars 211.0 g
    844%
    Protein 35.4 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes